Let me eat cake

On the heels of my last post, it occurred to me that most of what I do in this blog is rant and rave about being pregnant (and my forthcoming delivery).  While I won’t say that this is the most comfortable I’ve ever been, I do concede that in many regards, I’ve had a reasonably easy pregnancy.  I had very little nausea (and no actual barfing) in the beginning.  There was no gestational diabetes.  The little girl has really developed and performed on schedule.  We seem set for a normal delivery (whatever that means).  Sure, there are aches and pains (and now some pretty severe insomnia), but everything has been within limits.

Today I figured I should list some of the nicer things about this condition, if for no other reason than to put it into perspective for myself.

1)      People bring you food.  This can be a double-edged sword, particularly if you’re trying to at least somewhat regulate what you’re stuffing into your gaping maw (and keep your weight gain slow and steady).  It’s still a very nice gesture.  I’ve noticed that the guys at my office, in particular, are generous with their offerings.  Some days, I’m just starving, and it’s a nice treat.

2)      People tend to be a bit nicer to you, especially when it comes to holding doors.

3)      You can act up/out, and you’re almost excused for any bad or socially questionable behavior.  I will say that I haven’t totally succumbed to this, but I’ve been tempted.  Between hormones and the heat, I could probably beat up a little old lady and get a pass.  There have been situations where flying off the handle would have even been justifiable under normal circumstances, but I withheld.  I figure that’s just good karma when it’s all said and done.  I will add here that despite my discretion thus far, Will and I have decided that I really don’t need to be left unattended at the grocery store any more, or someone may be clubbed like a seal.

4)      Pregnancy is good for “draft dodging” at work.  We have a situation here with respect to a blown-out oil well (no, not the BP thing…..a terrestrial issue).  This is requiring my agency to participate in emergency response activities, some of which are not the most pleasant in the world (think 12 hour shifts – some graveyards obviously- where you sit around and from time to time slap on a respirator and go out to gather air samples).  E-mails were circulated asking for volunteers, but the correspondence indicated that if enough volunteers were not gathered, people would be volunteered.  While I’m all about helping, this duty sounds like a drag that I, as a dumb geologist, am not qualified/trained for.  I don’t know beans about air sampling.  I also get a bit claustrophobic in respirators.  A lot claustrophobic.  Fortunately, being rotund with child, I wasn’t even included on the e-mail list.  I’m ok with that.

5)      You get a wonderful sense of the support from family and friends.  I’m not good at asking for help.  I’m not good at being the center of attention.  But I’m learning that assistance really can be essential sometimes, and that this is one of those times.  My closest friends at work just had a nice lunch and shower for me (following my strict wishes which included no games and not too much frou frou and squealing).  Tomorrow, my in-laws are having a family-type shower/barbecue for us (again, no games or squealing) to which my mom and aunts are coming.  Some of Will’s colleagues may also show up.  Since I have spent the last 15+ years of my life avoiding such things like the plague, I appreciate that there those out there who appreciate these functions, love us enough to have them for us, love us enough to come, and recognize that with a new baby coming, we need stuff, wisdom, and just all-around support.  With that kind of help, I think we’ll be ok.

About larva225

Working mom. Is there any other kind? Geologist. Nerd.
This entry was posted in pregnancy and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Let me eat cake

  1. Peg says:

    I need the grocery store ‘No Go Zone’ anytime it is 90* . Practicing my best squeal. Might throw in a Gyosy Yip…. really obnoxious

Leave a Reply

