My fetus will get you, my pretty….and your little dog, too

When we were born, neither Will nor I were giant babies.  From what we’ve been told, we were both under 7 pounds.  As I’ve progressed through my pregnancy, I have often been comforted by that, as most research seems to indicate that the size of the parents at birth is often a good predictor of what you, yourself, will be attempting to pass through your pelvis.

2 weeks ago, I started going in for weekly ultrasounds and visits with my doc.  During the first visit, I was told that biweekly, my little girl would be measured.  I was a bit daunted to find out that at not quite 33 weeks, she was already up to 4 lbs, 14 oz. Still, it seemed within limits, and the doctor didn’t seem too worried.  I went in today for another exam, and being 2 weeks later, it was time for another measuring.  I almost wept on the ultrasound table when the weight came back at 6 lbs, 10 oz.  It was so shocking, the ultrasound tech even re-measured everything to make sure she had her figures right.  She did.  I asked if perhaps our little girl was just very tall (I guess a supermodel could support us in our old age), but was given a firm “no.” 

I spent the next 30 minutes, anxiously waiting to see my doctor.  I had my usual list of questions to ask her, but they all seemed quite trivial compared to what was really burning in my mind: Was I about to have to pass a 20 lb National Enquirer baby out of my vagina?!  How did this happen?!

In short, we know nothing.  My doctor seems a bit put off, but not exactly what I’d call worried.  She stated that these ultrasound estimates were frequently off.  However, she did ask how Will was feeling about things, and how I thought he’d react to maybe going for a section.  She said we’d wait and see for now, and in 2 weeks (next measurement), reevaluate.  At that point, if this mutant growth continues, we can start making decisions.  I told her if this kid kept growing like she has been, I wanted it cut out of me.  I don’t want to have to try to pass something larger than one of my fully-grown cats, only to find out that it’s too big.  No way.  Just get it out.

I asked if I needed to alter my diet.  I was told no (and ironically, my unborn kid is gaining weight more rapidly than I am at this point).  I had passed my gestational diabetes test weeks ago with flying colors.  In all other respects, this has been a normal and healthy pregnancy.  The little girl herself seems perfectly wonderful and intact.  She’s simply enormous.

My doc said to try not to worry, and that either way, the baby would come out (and most likely be perfectly fine).  I have just barely started to dilate, but considering the little girl’s head is still way up in my pelvis, it doesn’t really count.  It’s going to be a long couple of weeks.  Fetal South Beach Diet, anyone??

About larva225

Working mom. Is there any other kind? Geologist. Nerd.
This entry was posted in pregnancy and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My fetus will get you, my pretty….and your little dog, too

  1. Mike says:

    Hey, if it helps, they had Sid at 7lbs..and she was only 5lbs. Those measurements really are just a guess. Besides, as much as your little girl cut up in there, I can’t imagine she kept too much weight on her!

  2. lauren says:

    I wouldn’t worry so much about her size… it’s really an approximation. i was told to expect a ten pounder with aidan, and even had an ultrasound sound tech blurt out “if i were you, i’d be scared for my vagina!”. aidan was 7 pounds.
    hang in there, honey, and try not to listen too much to the static, as it will drive you crazy
    love you!

Leave a Reply

