Tit for tat (the obvious title)

First, a disclaimer:  To any of my usual male readers, this will be a post about breastfeeding.  Reader discretion is advised (Translation:  Don’t bitch later if you find yourself offended or grossed out).

I knew from the beginning of the pregnancy that I wanted to breastfeed Stella.  I fully believe the research that suggests that breast milk is the best for them with respect to antibodies and other immunities.  I also think that being from their human mother, it’s the most easily-digestible for most of their little bellies.  And of course, have you ever seen the price of a can of formula?!  Holy shit.

I had done some research ahead of time via reading a whole lot of different materials.  Sometimes, the books made it seem harder than studying for the GRE.  At the end of the day, however, the consensus of the majority of this material was that a breastfeeder’s greatest enemy was improper latching followed closely by the dreaded nipple confusion.

I mentioned in passing about a week ago that it’s a cruel joke that prevents a mother’s milk from coming in immediately after birth vs. making us and our poor infants wait up to 4-5 days.  During this wait for us, we were given a SNS (supplemental nutrition system) at the hospital, whereupon a small (1 oz) amount of formula was placed in a vial and fed through a very tiny rubber tube to my own nipple.  While I was pretty upset that we had to use that, I was nevertheless grateful for it.  Our little girl got the food she needed/wanted and I still had her stimulating milk (and avoiding nipple confusion).  The main problem with the SNS was that it added an additional challenge to the whole latching thing.  You wouldn’t think a 3-4 mm tube would complicate things, but it sort of does.  I’m proud to say we haven’t had to use that in days.  I’m very, very relieved.

In the meantime, my nipples were positively killing me.  On one side, I even had what looked to be a small chunk missing out of one.  Each time Stella would latch on, I would have to just grit my teeth for the first 30 seconds or so before we both seemed to relax into it.  I expected some pain/discomfort, but this was a bit much sometimes.  Again, I’m proud to say that whether it be the lack of the SNS, the lanolin, or the fact that my nipples are now mostly scar tissue, it’s not quite as awful as it was.  This is valuable, since I had nicknamed Stella the snapping turtle.  “What to Expect” talks about the different styles of nursing babies, and in their taxonomic system, my little girl would fall into the “barracuda” category.  Every nursing session begins with furious and rapid rooting followed by a vicious clamp on whichever boob she happens to be near.

Nursing dressing/fashion is also an issue I have been completely unprepared for.  I had acquired loads of good maternity tops, but only a handful are good for nursing (i.e. easy access).  One interesting side effect is that between the milk and the lanolin cream I’m using, the breast shields stick pretty well, thereby giving me the illusion of nursing mommy pasties.  I doubt I’d earn any money for the look at a club, but short term it offers some coverage.

About larva225

Working mom. Is there any other kind? Geologist. Nerd.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Tit for tat (the obvious title)

  1. Jamie says:

    Never know, some guys/gals might be into the nursing pad thing 😉 could get you extra tips.
    Sounds like the food chain monster was a great gift (based on her piranha like state).

  2. Small chunk missing? @_@

  3. da-de-da-de-da says:

    At least the teeth aren’t shaped like fishhooks.

Leave a Reply

