Mixed grill

Stella discovers sand

Stella discovers sand

We recently returned from a long weekend at the beach.  This was our first real trip with the baby.  To be honest, I was scared to death about it.  I had nightmare scenarios in my head of her screaming her head off for the entire 4 hour trip.  Instead, she slept – both ways- for about 3 hours.  You just really can’t ask for more than that.  Sure, I had to ride in the back with her for most of it, but that’s a small price to pay.  It was such a success that we may actually go back again in the near future.

While there, it was fairly mellow.  Stella got to hang out with Crispy a whole lot.  Speaking of, I have officially attained the status of “chopped liver.”  When we pulled up to the condo, my mother did not even say hello to me; she snatched the baby out of my arms and ran upstairs with her.  She later claimed that this was to prevent Stella from catching a chill.  Yeah, right.  In any case, Will and I got a couple of “dates” in and it was most definitely good to get out of town.

I did notice something somewhat disturbing.  I had always heard of little old ladies pinching little children’s cheeks and wanting to “eat them up.”  I guess due to the cold weather, many oldsters are hanging out along the Gulf Coast for the winter.  Poor little Stella was approached by I don’t know how many old ladies. The baby was like crack to them.  They were probably harmless, but as a new mom, all I could see were these scraggly old fingernails, yellow teeth, and large scratchy rings approaching my child.  It was like something out of a fairy tale or horror movie.  I’ve never seen old people as menacing before.

One downer:  about 5 hours after we got home, something awful, something horrible, something unspeakable happened in my gastric system.  I went from ok to somewhat green to a double feature (you know what I mean) within about an hour and a half.  From 7 PM to about 11 PM, I was miserable.  Horrible things were spewing forth from my body.  I ached.  I had chills.  I actually felt much worse than I did after my c-section (then again, I had drugs then).  At one point, the baby woke me up to nurse and after about 1 minute at the breast, I had to shove her down to go puke.  I don’t know if it was food poisoning or some kind of virus.  I stayed home on Monday as I had absolutely no strength, energy, or appetite.  Luckily, Will and the baby seem fine.  I am also ok now.  I just hope that this episode fulfills my illness quota for quite some time.

About larva225

Working mom. Is there any other kind? Geologist. Nerd.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

