Cack-a-doodle-doo

Now that Stella’s sleeping, I’m worried about a new nighttime phenomenon.  What will become of my milk production?  The first several nights she slept more than 3 hours at a time, I would find myself waking up at 2:00 or 2:30 with the unenviable baseball boobs, milk beginning to stain the front of my pajama top.  I would rush out to pump (but not so much that if Stella woke, I would be empty), and then fall asleep on the couch for the remainder of the evening – however it played out.  Now, after nearly a week, I can go nearly 8 hours without my boobs sending me “wakey, wakey” signals, and when I do “wakey wakey,” they’re not absolutely killing me.

Shades

Now that she's rested, Stella (nor my boobs) need the shades

I have tried to do a little research on what will become of my milk but cannot seem to find much information.  I got so desperate yesterday that I emailed La Leche League.   I haven’t heard back yet, but hopefully they’ll give me their opinion.  I can already pretty much guess what they’ll say:  continue to pump every 3-4 hours, even if it means waking up to do so.  Honestly, I don’t know that I can bear that idea.  Selfishly at this point, I have to have sleep.  I’m starting to feel human now.  Don’t take that from me.

So I’m doing what I can do in the meantime, and I’m sure it will be fine.  Moms everywhere deal with this and so far the babies are ok.  I’m hoping my boobs are smart; maybe they’ll adjust to their own little circadian rhythms.  They’ll sleep at night and continue to go gangbusters during the day.  When I’m awake, Stella nurses on demand (which usually is anywhere from every 2-3 hours) and I pump every 4 hours or so when at work.

I also have my milk hoard, which I haven’t talked about in a while.  Back in the day, we had to get TI-85 calculators – these magnificent and machines from Texas Instruments.  They were a lot of money, but as I still use and love mine, I guess it was worth the dough.  One of my favorite things is the unit conversion functions, which allows me to convert my milk hoard (in fluid ounces) to something more meaningful to me: gallons.  Since I currently have 19 bags of frozen milk, and each bag containing 3 “slugs” or servings of milk, that’s 57 slugs.  Each slug is roughly 4 ounces, so that’s 228 ounces.  Doing the conversion (1 Ounce = 0.0078125 Gallons), I have 1.78 gallons of milk frozen.  That’s almost 2 gallons of breastmilk frozen in handy serving sizes.  And I worry about whether I have enough???  Honestly, Stella has yet to consume even one slug of frozen milk.  What in the world is wrong with me????

But I think you should appreciate my neat milk math.

About larva225

Working mom. Is there any other kind? Geologist. Nerd.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

