Ma Tee-Vie en Rose

As a parent, I want what’s best for my little girl.  I also want her to be independent, and capable of making her own choices – finding her own voice.  With this in mind, I’ve been feeling a bit guilty about what we’ve been watching on TV and reading together.  While Stella is certainly not in a position to go to the “now watching” list on TV and select ESPN or toddle up to the shelves at Barnes and Noble and pick out a Winnie the Pooh book, I think both Will and I try to pick things we like/think are cool and tend to expose her to that stuff more than others.

For instance, I may be an awful mother but one of the first things I can remember watching when we all got home from the hospital was the season premier of Dexter.  I can remember my mother and I even hooting a bit that that was so inappropriate, watching a serial killer show with my newborn.  But beyond that (and obviously once she’s old enough to really start understanding what she’s seeing on that screen, Dexter will have to be viewed after she’s asleep), we steer her towards cartoons we like already or can otherwise tolerate.  She has never seen Barney or a Teletubby.  She HAS seen Invader Zim , Spongebob, and one of her new favs, Yo Gabba Gabba.  Bubble Guppies still reign supreme, but I don’t think we find those to be odious.

With books it’s probably even more pronounced.  We have amassed books largely based on our own preferences.  We love the Olivia books and Click Clack Moo so we read her those more than others.  The other books are ok, but I’d rather Stella “bond” with Olivia the pig rather than a Disney princess.  I’m sure that even more than the TV, she’ll make her opinions known pretty soon.  As long as she reads, I guess I really don’t care.

About larva225

Working mom. Is there any other kind? Geologist. Nerd.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Ma Tee-Vie en Rose

  1. I know what you mean. I remember avoiding certain things like Disney character themed toys and clothes, and instead trying to expose my daughter to Hayao Miyazaki movies instead cause I think they are cooler.

  2. I do enjoy the way you have presented this specific issue and it really does give me a lot of fodder for consideration. However, through everything that I have experienced, I basically hope when the feedback pile on that men and women remain on issue and in no way start upon a tirade of some other news du jour. All the same, thank you for this excellent piece and whilst I do not really go along with it in totality, I respect the perspective.

Leave a Reply

