Take this job and pump it

I’ve on and off again mentioned that being a mom means that you must always juggle as much as you can.  Some of us are better at letting the little things go (housework, most notably), while others can’t do it, and find themselves sweeping or wiping countertops one-handed or while wearing your kid in the Baby Bjorn.  There are some things, though, that simply must be done.  I’ll put these in the category of “biological functions.”

You can hold your bladder for a pretty long time, but occasionally it must be emptied.  Particularly  if you’re breastfeeding and have a 15 pound weight sitting on top of it.  Once or twice in the early days when Stella was having a rough patch, yes….I admit I did pee while holding the baby.  Sue me.  I will say for the record, however, that that is where the bathroom functions ended. 

Recently, however, I have taken multitasking to new heights.  As many of my semi-regular readers will know, I have to travel occasionally for work.  This has required some juggling with the whole breastfeeding/pumping thing.  Now, however, I’m in a pretty good groove with it.  I have regular places I pull over where I feel reasonably secure, and since we’re now 9 months into this, if I pump a little late I no longer feel like I’m in imminent danger of rupturing something. All that being said, I ran into an issue the other day.

I was visiting one of my sites and was unable to get away for the drive home as early as I had wanted.  I was alone on this trip, so I didn’t have the  luxury of scandalizing my poor boss and pumping in the backseat while he drove to save time.  I needed to pump, it was getting late, I didn’t want to be late picking Stella up, and I was nowhere near any of my “safe” places.  So, yes.  I pumped while driving.  I tried to be as smart as I could.  I was on open interstate.  I had the cruise control on.  I only did one side at a time, and I kept myself thoroughly covered such that I was not giving any truckers a thrill (or a nightmare, I guess).

I am not proud of myself….really.  I guess I do pride myself on my resourcefulness if nothing else.  That and not wrecking the vehicle.  Either way, I got that job done.

About larva225

Working mom. Is there any other kind? Geologist. Nerd.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Take this job and pump it

  1. Terri G says:

    Can’t wait to hear the citizen’s complaint on this one!

  2. Pumping & driving?! =O
    You must be amazingly coordinated, or just a veteran driver.
    I still haven’t gotten to the point in which I can drive and talk.

  3. Aprille says:

    Yup… I’ve used the toilet while breastfeeding on multiple occasions. It’s easier than hearing the baby scream…

Leave a Reply

