The Year of the Cack

Almost one year ago, I was “disembabied” and our little girl joined the party. In 48 hours, it will be Stella’s birthday. It really is just a surreal thing to think about. As with many big events, it seems like it was forever ago but only hours ago at the same time. So much has changed. I’ve learned a hell of a lot. I figured while I had a quiet moment (which seems to get harder and harder to come by), I’d jot down some thoughts on it. I apologize in advance for an incoherent blog.

• It’s wild that in the blink of an eye Stella went from being this often malevolent screaming pooing blob to this magnificent little person. While I certainly thought she was cute and wonderful from the first day, I do vividly remember the sense of dread I used to sometimes feel at night or when she would scream. Would I be able to do it? What was wrong with her? While there still are some mysterious moments (bring on the toddler tantrums), we’re all so much more relaxed.

• You can’t have enough baby washrags or plastic bowls. Who knew?

• The Gyrobowl is a piece of shit. “Unspillable” my ass. The only way I can think of to make it worse would be to simply saw the bottom off. But then at least it would spill more quickly and in one location. Save your money.

• Childproofing is never over. We will never be done. Once you get your house set for a crawler, they’re walking. Already Stella is showing signs of wanting to climb. And her father witnessed her doing her best velociraptor impression the other day and opening the door to the bathroom.

• There is nothing better than napping with your baby.

• Now that nursing is wrapping up (I’m only doing a morning session, a pre-bedtime session, and maybe one afternoon session), I AM relieved not to have to schlep the pump with me everywhere. It’s also nice to be able to wear a whole lot more of my wardrobe, as I can now wear things that don’t fall into the “I can take my boobs out of this” category.

• Time DOES pass more quickly when you have a kid. There is always something to do. I can see this only getting worse as she gets older and we add more play dates and things like cello and karate lessons.

• You DO need to worry when they get quiet. That’s when they are doing something that you absolutely don’t want them to do.

• Things that are delicious one day, are loathsome the next. This law extends to some rather surprising food items such as turkey dogs and mac and cheese.

• As good as it is to get away from them sometimes, it also breaks your heart. That doesn’t seem to get better. At least not for me.

• You will endure the most inane crap if it makes your kid happy. You will sing the same songs, play the same games, watch the same episodes endlessly. Doesn’t matter. I used to think Disney World was the lamest place on earth. Now, can’t wait to go and see how she reacts.

• The whole “mother bear” thing is an understatement.

• To every mom, their kid is the greatest kid on earth. Or at least that’s how it should be. I get sad thinking about kids whose moms don’t feel that with every fiber of their being.

Happy birthday, Stella!!

About larva225

Working mom. Is there any other kind? Geologist. Nerd.
This entry was posted in Parenting, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Year of the Cack

  1. Terri says:

    Congratulations on the completion of your first year! Now the good news: there’s more to come! Enjoy every minute because as you’ve experienced with the first year, it’s over before you know it. And, once again, thank you so much for sharing it so beautifully and eloquently with us!

  2. Happy birthday to Stella! Wow, I can’t believe it’s been a whole year! It’s been very fun and insightful to have been reading your blog for over a year while also experiencing my life with a baby. ^_^
    P.S. – Always thought those bowls sounded too good to be true!

  3. Pingback: Murder In the Worst | Dramatic Momologue

Leave a Reply

