Hook, Line, and Inker

I’m one of those people who doesn’t have a problem with tattoos. I do think that design choice and placement are important, particularly depending on what you do for a living. For instance I think you’re a moron if you get a Gene Simmons tattoo on your neck if you have any intention at all of getting a (higher-paying) white collar job. The two just don’t necessarily jive. For years I’ve had 2. Most people simply wouldn’t know.

Since becoming a mom – without a doubt the most significant thing I’ve done with my life thus far – I wanted to somehow commemorate that with a tattoo. I personally think portrait tattoos are creepy (and there’s just way too much possibility for a scarily bad job on those things….check the internet!!) and I’m not one for branding someone’s name on the human body. Since Stella means “star,” I started there.

Annoyingly enough, everyone has star tattoos now. They’re trendy for some reason. This pissed me off, as if anyone had cause to get one, it’s me. So I started thinking outside the box and went more natural/organic. I found some really pretty starfish I liked and figured I’d progress from there. Then there was the issue of timing. Most shops won’t ink you up if you’re pregnant or nursing. It was a long wait.

Finally, I was able to go get one on December 31. I left Will with Stella (ha!) and headed off to a shop that was recommended to me (and after spending lots of time looking at the portfolios of their staff). I really didn’t know what to expect when I got there, as I didn’t know if anyone would be available or if my budget would work. Long story short, I got a magnificent piece on my front left side, between my collar bone and boob. While it’s not what I had in my head when I walked in, it’s so much more.

The healing has been more problematic. Bra straps, purse straps, and diaper bag straps catch it. Worst of all is Stella, who likes to climb me like a tree. She doesn’t understand that mommy has a bo-bo and she needs to be a bit gentle. It’s worst of all when she’s sleepy, as she still likes to jam her arm down your shirt when she’s trying to go to bed. Ah well. I’m sure it will all be worth it in a week or so when it’s done hurting and being ugly. Already it’s much better than it was.

 Finally, it does occur to me that one day in the next 12-15 years, this will all probably embarrass Stella greatly. I can almost hear the eye-rolling now. You know, “my mom likes to THINK she’s cool….” I guess there would always be something to trigger that kind of comment, though, whether I’m inked or not.

About larva225

Working mom. Is there any other kind? Geologist. Nerd.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

