Cheer’s Lookin’ At You, Kid!

This one will be short and silly.  Thank me later.

For those of you who have been through the pregnancy game, you know that by the time you reach the end of the experience, you feel as if you have been in every OB-GYN exam room in the country.  You know what I’m talking about.  Benign wall color, exam table with stirrups covered in nice little heel protectors provided by birth control-pushing pharmaceutical companies, and if you’re lucky, some fine “hotel-style” wall décor rather than the usual “female reproductive system” poster.  Yesterday, I found myself in a new room.  How could I tell?  This one was very, very distinctive.

I’ve mentioned before that we live in a huge football town.  Folks here live and die LSU, and to a lesser  extent, the Saints.  Anything that they can festoon with purple and gold gets festooned.  I was out with a crew groundwater sampling once in a marsh and their bloody airboat was purple and gold for crying out loud.  I don’t get it.  That probably makes this harder to wrap my head around.

Touchdown!  Way to go, Pap Smear!!

Touchdown! Way to go, Pap Smear!!

I was stunned at first.  And then I just started to laugh.  I posted it on my Facebook feed with the comment: There is something seriously disconcerting about the idea of all of Tiger Stadium cheering for your vagina.

I’m going to get a bit gender-stereotypical here.  I think it’s safe to say that there are more male sports fan than females, particularly if you’re classifying into the taxonomic category of “huge fan” vs “casual fan.”  I know some ladies would fall into the HF category.  I’m talking generalizations here, OK?   In any case, putting a huge mural of a football stadium seems like a “man” think to do.  And I cannot for one moment think of why a man would be on a table in that room with their feet on the stirrups.  I wonder if the speculum was purple and/or gold?

About larva225

Working mom. Is there any other kind? Geologist. Nerd.
This entry was posted in Parenting, pregnancy and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Cheer’s Lookin’ At You, Kid!

Leave a Reply

