Cold and Fluid Season

It seems that perhaps I’m channeling my inner Bruce Willis from Unbreakable:  you know, M. Night Shyamalan’s last good movie.  For those of you who missed it or forgot, Bruce was something of a superhero.  He couldn’t be hurt and couldn’t get sick unless water was involved.  Water was his kryptonite.  Water seems to be a pervasive theme for me at the moment as well.

I’ll start with the stupid/funny.  For quite some time, Will has taken one for the team and agreed to do all of the family grocery shopping at Wal Mart.  I hate Wal Mart.  It makes me want to crawl under a desk, suck my thumb, and start rocking.  But, I have to concede that it’s cheaper than most anything else.  Will is more tolerant, so he goes while I stay home with Stella.  From time to time, that means he has to buy items for me that are not typically from the male ecosystem – moisturizer, mascara, or feminine hygiene products.  He’s gotten pretty used to this by now, as most long-term male partners of a female tend to do.  99% of the time, I’ve had him purchase tampons from the above list.  That’s easy.  There are only 1-2 criteria that are important and the rest are not.  Moisturizer contains many more pitfalls.

I have reached an odd point in my pregnancy where pantyliners are required.  I guess it’s cervical mucous?  It’s not a horrible gross thing, but I’ve just decided that liners are a good idea.  I also had a pretty rough go of it last time I had a bad cough/cold (I choose not to share beyond that, but y’all know what I’m talking about) and I don’t even want to discuss the last time I threw up.  Regardless, this didn’t happen last pregnancy, so it’s new.  Products are required.    These aren’t items that I usually have Will deal with, so I showed him my last one and gave him general instructions (no wings, nothing fancy i.e. expensive) and gave him a very quick synopsis of why they were necessary.

I received a text with a photo from Wal Mart, asking if he had the correct thing.  The text simply read: “?”

The good, the pad, and the ugly

The good, the pad, and the ugly

I replied: Not Serenity!  I think that’s for bladder issues?

Will: Oh.  That’s what you wanted, right?

Me:  It’s maybe more expensive and not really.  Were you looking at the period stuff or the “I piss myself” stuff?

Suffice it to say, he finally found the correct thing.  And I know it’s stupid; it’s essentially the same stupid product.  While I’m no expert on incontinence (thank the stars and moon), I just can’t go there.  Pads and other necessary girl stuff is bad enough.

Moving on, I had another OB checkup and ultrasound yesterday.  Once again, it seems I’m having fluid problems.  I’m running a bit low.  My level is 8.8 (cm is the unit of measure here, I believe) and while it’s still in the “normal range,” it’s considered “low normal.”  I didn’t think too much of it initially, as every single week I’ve heard “ you’ve got plenty of fluid.”  Why such a difference all the sudden?  The tech also pointed out that BY had a very full bladder and that once he wee’d the fluid level would rebound somewhat.  He also moves constantly and measuring is difficult.  I watched him grabbing his toes this time around and it took the tech about 5 tries to get the belly circumference she needed.  But my OB was/is concerned.  She said she wanted me in Friday AM for a follow-up ultrasound and measurement.

I asked the inevitable question: what happens if I’m still low/lower?  It seems at that point I’m admitted to the hospital for strict observation and rest to “buy time.”  In other words, if I don’t measure better Friday, I could get stuck in the hospital for 2 weeks or more.  That freaked me out.  In addition to work and money/co-pay woes, I don’t know how I could be away from Stella that much.  I know she could visit but……just no.  I was sent on my way, told not to worry, and advised to chug water.

So don’t you know the first thing I did last night once Stella went to sleep?  Yep.  Google.  Damn you, Google.  They ought to rename it “How To Freak Yourself Out In 4 Keywords Or Less.”  There’s a name for it: oligohydramnios, which is basically just a condition of low amniotic fluid.  It can be caused by all kinds of things, such as the benign condition of mom being on the dehydrated side to the more serious kidney problems in the fetus.  I’m trying not to stress.  It’s difficult.  And I’m drinking so much water.  If you need me, I’m in the bathroom, damn it.  I’ll keep you posted.

About larva225

Working mom. Is there any other kind? Geologist. Nerd.
This entry was posted in Parenting, pregnancy and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Cold and Fluid Season

  1. Just take lots of water, even if it means you’ll practically live in the loo, you’ll be fine come Friday

  2. my27stars says:

    Oh no! I guess I just answered my question on your most recent post (for some reason my feed hasn’t been keeping up with itself…). I do the same thing with the google-machine. Not because I’m a hypochondriac or anything, I just like to know every possible issue so I can be prepared. Hopefully things are better today since your test.

    • larva225 says:

      Yeah, sorry. All is well. It’s just been a bit nuttier than normal! I’m so relieved. I don’t know what would have happened had I been admitted yesterday.

Leave a Reply

