Great Barrier Brief

This will be one of those quick and random posts just to summarize the past several days.  First and foremost for those of you following along at home, we had our follow-up ultrasound yesterday morning to check my amniotic fluid levels.  Fortunately, they had come up some to a 10.  I think that’s kind of the cut-off where they stop worrying.  I had been reading on Google that often issues can be tied to kidney problems in the baby so I had the tech just peek at them to make sure they looked OK   Big relief there.  While I’m ready to be done with being pregnant, I’m not prepared to be stuck in a hospital or run the risk of BY coming out before he’s “done.”  Then there’s the bit about not being done with our prep list.

On that front, we finally got our new king-sized bed delivered Wednesday.  This was a Xmas gift from my mom and her husband.  It’s been equivalent to when a person finally gets a DVR or an iPhone (or equivalent smartphone).  You kind of scoff at the idea for a while until you get one and then it changes your life.  How in the hell have we gone so long without this?  It’s like sleeping in the middle of the deck of an upholstered aircraft carrier.  We all fit and there’s room to move.  Sure, we take the occasional elbow or knee1 in the night from Stella, but it’s a remarkable improvement.  For those of you out there with little kids who at least sometimes find yourselves in the co-sleeping/family bed, go out now and buy a giant bed.  Make it so.

On the heels of the new bed, Will can now finish the co-sleeper.  It’s been largely built and he’s only been waiting on the bed’s arrival so that he can take accurate measurements for legs.  He’s done such a good job on this, even adding little practical and decorative extras.  I’ll no doubt post a pic at some point just to brag on him a bit more.  While I certainly have days where I’d like to pinch my husband – hard – for doing silly things, I am always infinitely grateful that he not only knows how to do this kind of detailed man-work, but likes to do it.  I’m already trying to think ahead to who might need this when we’re done with it.  It’s too cool not to pass on to someone.

Anyway, that should be done in the next 24 hours, and most of that time will be for paint to dry.  We should also have the big stuff down from the attic and ready to go.  Our sprinkle is tomorrow.  It’s going to be a busy weekend.  Things are finally coalescing really nicely.

I would really like for the next (last) 2 weekends of this pregnancy to be as relaxed and chilled-out as possible.  While I might not last too long, I’d like to at least take Stella to the zoo one more time, just the 3 of us.  The weather has been great if not almost too warm (sorry for those of y’all stuck in frozen tundras).  I’ll close with a picture from yesterday afternoon, where Stella decided that it was, indeed, warm enough to play in the water in the backyard.  Yes, she’s in her clothes.  I allowed this since it didn’t involve me having to chase her.

The idea originally had been to let her play with her splash table a bit.  I should have known better.  The splash table has never been just that.  It has always doubled as a jacuzzi tub.

The idea originally had been to let her play with her splash table a bit. I should have known better. The splash table has never been just that. It has always doubled as a jacuzzi tub.

So much for being brief.  Have a good weekend, one and all.

1 I’ve noticed over the past 2-3 weeks that Stella’s knees seem magically drawn to my mid-section at night.  I think subconsciously she knows what’s up.

About larva225

Working mom. Is there any other kind? Geologist. Nerd.
This entry was posted in Parenting, pregnancy and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Great Barrier Brief

  1. my27stars says:

    I’m so glad the test went well! It would have been so hard for you to leave Stella for so long! And that probably would’ve added to your fears of Stella throwing the baby over the fence. 🙂 We’ve actually never *ever* been able to get Doodle to sleep in our bed. It’s kind of nice that there’s nothing to wean off of, but we’ve never had a final option for when he won’t sleep – the second we try him in our bed it’s playtime. Sometimes it feels like it’d be nice to just cuddle and pass out with him. :/

    • larva225 says:

      We live in nighttime Bizarro universes! I think Stella has only slept 3-4 nights her whole life on her own. Whether we knew it or not, we created/became a “family bed” household. Once I kind of got over some of the stigma behind it (and there’s lots of it, for some reason), we’ve all been better off. I figure she’ll migrate to her “big girl” bed when she’s ready. Maybe sooner rather than later with a new baby that’ll be up hollering all the time!

Leave a Reply

