Stuck In the Middle With Ewe

All parents know that kids love singing and music.  Many of us while knocked up put headphones on our swollen guts to expose the new kid to it.  BY is currently enjoying a Radiohead concert on Youtube right now.  We might Bach the Casbah later.  Classical AND punk in the same morning.

Anyway, it’s nice when they’re either in utero or tiny infants, as you are in charge of the radio station.  Once they learn to communicate and express their own desires, however, it’s a whole new ballgame.  Once upon a time, I opined that Stella would simply grow up listening to the Cure and Beastie Boys, as we were the grown ups, damn it, and that’s what we wanted to hear.  Oh, what a foolish, foolish mommy I was.

Once you have a kid, you realize very quickly that you’ll do/play/execute just about anything to keep your kid entertained (or quiet them, if you’re having “a moment”) and enriched.  Music is good for little brains, ergo it should be played pretty much on demand.  I have to wonder, however, if that theory extends to 2 year olds and their tastes.  For example, we’re STILL kind of stuck on Xmas around here. Specifically, Stella will still sometimes launch into a lusty version of “Dingle Balls.”  It is getting less frequent.  Maybe by March we will have left the holidays behind.  I was encouraged when she woke this morning in bed and started singing “I Like Bugs” from Yo Gabba Gabba.

Many of these songs are the kid equivalent of pop standards-  Old MacDonald (Ee-ii-ee-uh-oh), Row Row Row the Boat, Twinkle Twinkle.  These just never ever seem to grow old.  In a fit of desperation for something new, I found a child version of the old “Dry Bones” song, so we spend a lot of time on Youtube watching Dem Bones do the Skeleton Dance.  Over and over and over again.

If I had to pick one song that has echoed most frequently through my household lately it would have to be Baa Baa Black Sheep.  We are caught in a loop.  My kid is obsessed.  Yes sir, yes sir, three bags full.  My husband is in hell.  He says it’s a lot like Xmas when I make him watch the 24 hours of a Christmas Story.  Haven’t we seen/heard this bit before?  Wait a minute, wasn’t this verse/scene on earlier when we were eating pancakes?  I guess the writers and composers of these old little songs must have been like the jingle writers of today.  Bastards.

About larva225

Working mom. Is there any other kind? Geologist. Nerd.
This entry was posted in Parenting, pregnancy and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Stuck In the Middle With Ewe

  1. my27stars says:

    I *love* the sesame street versions of some popular songs (some older too). There’s Jason Mraz, Plain White T’s, Norah Jones, Will.I.Am, Katy Perry… – even some Hootie and the Blowfish and Goo Goo Dolls! Doodle’s and my favorites are the Will.I.Am song and Cookie Monster’s “Share it Maybe.”

    And there’s tons of them. Might be a good way to stop that loop a bit. And it’s Sesame Street, even if you are having “a moment” (And I have those hourly, no worries, lady!) and just need to get her to stop effing talking for a moment, you really can’t feel bad about shoving her in front of Sesame Street! 🙂

  2. Right now we’re on “Happy Dirtday” and Gabba’s “All my friends are different but I love them just the same.”

Leave a Reply

