Flea-Falling

As if things didn’t sometimes feel overwhelming enough these days, I discovered something horrible and revolting the other night:  the 3 Stupid Cats have fleas.  While this statement is not shocking to many, when you have 3 cats that have lived indoors essentially their whole lives, never ever going out or mingling with other pets or grass, and have never shown any kind of plague or pestilence since initially being adopted and de-pestilenced YEARS ago, it IS shocking.  And the timing?  Laughable.  I mean, there’s nothing like the idea of bringing your new baby home in less than 3 weeks into a home with 3 flea-ridden cats.

I know, I know.  It IS possible for indoor cats to get these beasts, and with all the damn rain we’ve had, the chances soared.  While I was grossed out, Will was grossed out AND scandalized.  He had never really had to deal with this kind of thing before, whereas I, a lifetime cat-owner, had.  When you’re not blown up pregnant like a zeppelin and chasing a 2 year old, it’s just not that big of a deal provided you catch it early.  Now, admittedly, it is a bit more complicated and unsettling.

Fortunately, I think we caught it early, and our house has no carpet.  Will made a beeline for Wal-Mart to buy treatments.  I had suggested Frontline or Advantage, as I had used both on cats-now-passed and had very good results with it.  Now, it’s OTC and you don’t even have to try to wrangle your cat to a vet to get it1.  He texted from the store to let me know they carried neither for cats – only this Hartz stuff.  I was reluctant, and told him I’d just stop on my way home and buy the other stuff at a proper pet shop, but he wanted to buy something NOW2.  I said whatever.  I got online to research reviews of the Hartz stuff and was pretty unhappy with what I read – loads of feline deaths, neurological issues, and seizures.  Someone even created an entire website devoted to this.  I texted Will to just set this crap aside, not to use it.  I didn’t think he actually would but just in case…  I stopped at lunch, spent Stella’s college fund on Advantage, and away we went.

For those of you who don’t know, Advantage works great.  By the next morning, I was finding twitching, dying, or dead fleas all over the house.  I was actually surprised at how many I saw, as only 1 of the Stupid Cats seemed really impacted.  Regardless, seeing flea corpses or nearly corpses is gross, and I think triggered the long-awaited nesting instinct.  I spent the whole day cleaning: vacuuming, dusting, taking apart the couch, washing just about every blanket/throw/sweater I could get my hands on.  I was/am exhausted.  I can honestly say that by the time I finished, I physically felt much worse than I did after my C-section with Stella.  Seriously, I could barely walk my back and pelvis hurt so badly.

In any case, we should be flea-free now.  I will still perform several good follow-up vacuums and sweeps, and the Stupid Cats will receive at least 2 more monthly million dollar treatments, but hopefully that will be that.

Again I ask:  anyone want 1-3 cats????

1 Wrangling cats into a cat carrier, or at least any of the 3 Stupid Cats, is akin to putting your entire body in a pencil sharpener while listening to Celine Dion backwards on an old-school record player.  The whole experience requires hours, a full bottle of gin, a full bottle of antiseptic for later, and a case of Kleenex for your tears.  Hateful.

2 I won’t even mention that I was the one that was going to have to apply the medication on all 3 Stupid Cats as they tend to not like Will and run from him.  Sigh.

About larva225

Working mom. Is there any other kind? Geologist. Nerd.
This entry was posted in House and home, Parenting, pregnancy and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Flea-Falling

  1. MG says:

    I just love REAL pet stories. Mine usually include gross pet things too! Good luck. 😀

Leave a Reply

