Whine and a Half Weeks

Day8:  The Weeping Sickness is subsiding, replaced by extreme irritation and malaise.  The adults find ourselves yelling “no” with alarming frequency, typically directed at the 2 year old.  It is estimated that out of every 100 words uttered, a minimum of 65% are variations of “no” or “don’t.”  The 2 year old has responded by intervals of shrieking incomprehensibly alternated with some kind of full-body fit during which she throws herself violently on the floor, arches her back, kicks her feet, and screams.

Day 9: Clear liquid is now spewing forth from the 2 year old’s nose.  Her humor has also deteriorated.  In an unfair twist of fate, it seems she has become ill after avoiding it for so long.  The trick now is to quarantine the 2 year old from the newborn.  The problem?  The 2 year old wants mommy and mommy is the only one that can feed the newborn.  Mommy is not a planaria and therefore cannot bifurcate and regenerate.  Daddy is repelled by the 2 year old when he attempts to soothe her, resulting in feelings of rejection by him and outrage by her that anyone but mommy would attempt to intervene.  Mommy feels guilty.  The night is long.

Day 10:  After a night during which no one but the newborn slept, the day dawns to yet more mucous flowing from the 2 year old’s nose.  All attempts to medicate her have been soundly rebuffed.  Daddy has gone to the pharmacy to attempt new and exciting varieties of medicines to no avail.  In desperation, the adults gang up on the 2 year old and attempt to manually restrain her while syringing a dose of the medication into her mouth.  Even with nostril pinching and jaws clamping, the 2 year old manages to eject almost every molecule of medicine and then run screaming through the house leaving a trail of Berry Blast blue liquid.  The adults gave up and renamed that dosage technique “waterboarding with Mucinex.”

Day 11:  After a better night’s sleep, the day proceeds somewhat more smoothly.  The 2 year old is taken on an outing to a local retail establishment.  All was well until departure was attempted.  At this point, a tantrum ensued and the caregiver’s back suffered a minor injury.  No further casualties were suffered until nightfall, where once again sleep proves elusive to the 2 year old and therefore the other occupants of the house.

I care not for your so-called recovery.  You will take me outside.

I care not for your so-called recovery. You will take me outside.

 

The wind will whisk the snot away.

The wind will whisk the snot away.

Day 12: More mucous, more rain.

Day13: Whether a function of the cabin fever, the loss of sleep, or the erosion of brain matter due to the frequency of the 2 year old’s whining, the Weeping Sickness returns.  Each day feels like the one before it.  Now the newborn is congested.  Shit.

I dare you to try to medicate me.

I dare you to try to medicate me.

 

I WILL bite.

I WILL bite.

Day 14: Whether a function of the cabin fever, the loss of sleep, or the erosion of brain matter due to the frequency of the 2 year old’s whining, the Weeping Sickness returns.  Each day feels like the one before it.  Oh wait.  Today is a follow-up appointment at the OB for an incision check.  What’s this bright light?  Why does the air feel so….fresh?  Is this what “outside” is?!

About larva225

Working mom. Is there any other kind? Geologist. Nerd.
This entry was posted in pregnancy and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Whine and a Half Weeks

  1. Amber Perea says:

    That is so weird…I just posted about this today! 🙂 The waterboarding technique that is. I was dealing with fever reducers and I don’t know if Musinex has rapid release tabs or pill type form but I had much more luck with crushing those up and adding just a bit of water and using a syringe dropper all the way to the back of the throat (when the inevitable scream came). The water went down much easier (and way less messy) than the syrupy kind and we actually managed to get enough in to being down the fever. I also used a “papoose” and basically swaddled him into submission (I’m a terrible person for even writing that but it’s the best description that I have) and then just kept him still. I think that way at least he didn’t feel like we were holding him down as much.

    Or at least that is what I plan on telling myself. 🙂

  2. Maggie says:

    I’m humming memories…breathe momma. It will be alright. Baby yourself and snotty 2 yr. old, let baby sleep…he has extra immunities. Stella just needs to know you love her more than that dumb ol new crying, smelly baby! 😉 My 1st child (daughter) told me to “please take him back to the hospital where he came from” after about a week of the “new baby thing”. I started saying things like: “you are so lucky you can talk now” or “you are so lucky you can go in the potty now”…you know, the advantages of being the big sister. You’ll find the comfort zone again.

  3. my27stars says:

    Did you try that Zarbee’s stuff? I know it won’t really help if she doesn’t actually take it, but we bought a new bottle before Doodle got pneumonia, it had melatonin in it! MELATONIN! Seriously, those Zarbee’s people are smart!

    It will get better, mama. I think. I hope. I mean, heck, you’re already at day 14, right? That’s gotta count for something! I hope things went well with your appointment. 🙂

Leave a Reply

