Weighting to Exhale

I’m going to market my breast milk  I think.  Our pediatrician saw Felix roughly 2 days after we left the hospital.  At that point, he weighed 7 pounds, 5 ounces.  He had regained the 2.2 ounces he had lost after birth plus one.  Not quite 2 weeks later, he returned for a 2 week checkup.  He had gained 1 pound, 9 ounces, clocking in at 8 lbs, 14 oz.  Maybe it’s just me but that seems impressive: over 1.5 pounds gained in under 2 weeks.  Of course, most of what the kid does is eat and sleep.  There are days when he will nurse every hour to hour and a half, and I’ve read that all the sleeping points to growth in many cases.

In any event, he’s rocking along at this point.  He’s still mainly the most mellow, even-tempered baby I’ve ever personally encountered.  Even when he “fusses” it’s fairly quiet and brief.  I can only imagine our collective state of mind if he was more like his sister at this point.  With her, we must have paced about 67 miles each and every night trying to get her to sleep or back to sleep, and we rocked our old rocking chair to bits.  With Felix?  I nurse him.  He goes to sleep.  He stays asleep while I swaddle him, and remains so while I place him in his little bed.  If he does happen to be awake for swaddling, 9 times out of 10 he looks around for a bit and then drifts off.  I cannot imagine 2 different kids at the same developmental stage.

In any case, I figure at this point my milk may be the cure for something, whether it be eating disorders or the hantavirus.  Regardless, I’m down with it.  Now that we’ve gotten used to each other, Felix is literally nursing my butt off with some to spare.  I’ve already started pumping small amounts to begin this kid’s Milk Hoard.  Of course, Stella’s reaction to the pump the first time she encountered it was pretty damn funny.  I don’t know if I could describe accurately the expression on her face.  I don’t think she was amused, and I’m pretty sure she was a bit scared and repulsed.

About larva225

Working mom. Is there any other kind? Geologist. Nerd.
This entry was posted in Parenting and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

