Double Felix

Monday is going to be a big sort of day.  For starters, it will mark the beginning of my last week on maternity leave.  Secondly, Felix will be attending his 2 month check-up.  I will also be picking up Stella’s immunization records for her first day of school in exactly 2 months, but that’s a whole other topic on which I’m sure I’ll have plenty to say later.

But…

2 months already!  My baby boy is already 2 months old.  Sure, he’s grown.  Each week now I have to carve out time to go through his drawers and the stack of stuff in his closet to make sure I have appropriately-sized clothing for him.  Seriously.  If I don’t do it every week, I have problems.  I’m also quite anxious that the huge pile of Size 1 diapers I have stockpiled will not get used in time.  I still have some in original packaging, so maybe I can exchange them.  We’ll see.  So yeah.  He’s grown.  He’s got big fat baby cheeks already, and I have to watch out during bath time not miss “cheese” in some of his rolls.

I should have had this one taken earlier.  I love those pics that show how little babies' backs are next to a grown up's hand

I should have had this one taken earlier. I love those pics that show how little babies’ backs are next to a grown up’s hand

 

He looks so little, and this was at 6 weeks already.

He looks so little, and this was at 6 weeks already.

 

I hate having my pic taken, and I don't do naked.  But my mom caught this one of me nursing Felix.  I think I'm kind of glad to have it.

I hate having my pic taken, and I don’t do naked. But my mom caught this one of me nursing Felix. I think I’m kind of glad to have it.

There are other changes.  He’s still a pretty serious-looking little guy, but he’s starting to smile.  There’s nothing better than when your new baby starts to grin at you for real.  He focuses quite well.  His neck control is pretty impressive.  His poos have settled down such that it’s not a fairly-constant dribble of mustard-orange out of his butt.

When you have an older kid I think you forget so much of the newborn stuff.  It somehow doesn’t make it into baby books or journals the way first steps or teeth do, especially for a second kid.  And there really aren’t words to capture how it feels to have your tiny little person curl up asleep under your chin while you rub your cheek on the top of their warm fuzzy little heads.  Their breathing is so strange and cute.  It’s erratic and accompanied by all kinds of wheezes, snorts, and coos.  They kind of snuffle rather than breathe the way you and I do.  I had forgotten these things.  I don’t want to forget them again.

Very studious kid, here.

Very studious kid, here.

Because this is it.  There will be no more newborn stuff.  I still have my plumbing but it’s disconnected.  Honestly, I don’t think my household could take another kid for every possible reason out there even if I were so inclined.  So these kinds of firsts are the last.  Sure, we have a whole universe of other firsts to look forward to (or dread, as in puberty and talks about death and dying), but my baby days are numbered.  That’s OK   As much as I would love to bottle this up now and keep it, I can’t wait to see how these kids turn out.

This one cracks me up for some reason

This one cracks me up for some reason

He does seem to love his big sister.  He's endlessly fascinated by her.  Maybe it's the deafening sounds she emanates.

He does seem to love his big sister. He’s endlessly fascinated by her. Maybe it’s the deafening sounds she emanates.

About larva225

Working mom. Is there any other kind? Geologist. Nerd.
This entry was posted in Parenting and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Double Felix

  1. JeannieB says:

    I find it interesting that when I had my first, I was so stressed out during the baby period I didn’t even enjoy it. Now that my first is three years old, I find that whenever her three-ness stresses me out to the point that I think I’m going to have a stroke, I can hold the baby and get de-stressed. I love the fuzzy head. I think there are feel good hormones in baby hair.

    • larva225 says:

      I wish they could find a way to make scarves or dresses out of baby hair, without harming any babies, of course. It’d be the softest, most relaxing fabric in the world.

  2. my27stars says:

    That picture of you nursing is beautiful – kind of jealous I don’t have any. Enjoy your last week or so of maternity leave. I know it’s tough with all of the deafening sounds Stella’s been emanating, but try and get you some good rest, leave the housework for later, and just focus on loving those babies.

Leave a Reply

