To Have and Withold

We’ve entered the Era of No at last.  I’ve heard that all kids do it but I think most of them get into it earlier than Stella.  I thought we might skip it due to the delayed speech and all.  I guess like death and taxes, no is a universal constant.

It started with food and eating.  It hasn’t been too bad.  “Stella, do you want hot dogs?”  Violent head shaking.  “Stella, do you want some pear?”  Violent head shaking.  “Stella, do you want some cheese?”  More head shaking.  You make the best of it.  Dinner prep becomes a game of 20 questions.

What’s been the most shocking is the withholding of affection.  She’s always been a sweet and affectionate little girl.  Totally into hugging and kissing.  The kissing is sweet if not often disgustingly wet.  Kisses have been so wonderful that they have most often come in multiples of 4 or 5, with her mouth becoming more open with each one.  Now?  She won’t kiss me or her father.  We get violent head shaking.

She will tease you with her puckered lips, but will not actually kiss you.

She will tease you with her puckered lips, but will not actually kiss you.

I think this is more like super model training.  The walk, the expression, she's got it all!

I think this is more like super model training. The walk, the expression, she’s got it all!

I’ve been waiting for my kid to show her butt.  She’s now showing it, literally and figuratively.

At least I still have one happy, pliant child.  For now.

At least I still have one happy, pliant child. For now.

About larva225

Working mom. Is there any other kind? Geologist. Nerd.
This entry was posted in Parenting and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

