Who, What, Where, When, and Whine?

It was a typical Sunday around our house.  Will and I were doing that frantic parental juggling act of trying to A) get shit done around the house, B) feed the children and ourselves, C) prepare for the upcoming week, D) make sure the kiddos –Stella, anyway – had some kind of entertainment other than television, E) actually spend a bit of time together, and F) battle the occasional Stella outburst.  She had been a bit tantrumy (made up word, ok?) all weekend, and our nerves were wearing a bit thin.  I was also intermittently sobbing at the thought of leaving Felix and going back to work the next day.  We were kind of a mess.

Will was trying to finish cooking breakfast and I was trying to send an email or something relatively important.  Stella was following us around in turns, demanding that we read Dinosaur vs. Potty to her for the 63rd time that morning.  Both of us declined, promising we would read again after breakfast.  Stella started bellowing and whining.  Will started bellowing at her to stop whining1. That, of course, incited a fresh episode of whining in a different key.

The "good old days" with Stella, when she was still vaguely lump-like.  Sure, she didn't sleep, but at least you didn't have to chase her.

The “good old days” with Stella, when she was still vaguely lump-like. Sure, she didn’t sleep, but at least you didn’t have to chase her.

 

An early indication of spunk.  Look at that expression on her chubby little face!

An early indication of spunk. Look at that expression on her chubby little face!

Then she hollered/whined, “Oh my god!  Oh my god!” while leaning dramatically against the kitchen door jamb.   I about fell out laughing.  I don’t know where in the world she would have picked that up.  I don’t think that’s a phrase we use a whole lot around her.  If anything, she might have gotten “Shit!” or “Damn it!” out of me.  Regardless, it is time to pay very close attention to the words that pass our lips at this point.

And now.  Oh.  My.  God.

And now. Oh. My. God.

1 I think every mom in the world knows this routine.  I don’t know which party is more irritating at that moment in time: the loud whining toddler or the loud whining grown up who OUGHT TO KNOW BETTER.

About larva225

Working mom. Is there any other kind? Geologist. Nerd.
This entry was posted in House and home, Parenting and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Who, What, Where, When, and Whine?

  1. Rough morning. Send her back to t.v. I often take this route – wish it was less.
    Being careful about what you say can be a pain. I think my older son’s vocabulary really grew during a particularly emotional football game. No, I ain’t proud!

    • larva225 says:

      I needed that laugh! Once upon a time I enjoyed boxing and baseball. Fortunately we’ve had to cancel HBO and if I had the time to sit through a 9 inning game, I’d just as soon sleep.

      • At this point, my older boy in particular enjoys watching sports (well, somwhat) and we do that together. Btw, I don’t remember the last time I watched a full game. Even if I do watch a game, I am always doing something else at the same time.

  2. my27stars says:

    Doodle heard me say “oh shit!” over the phone, he started stomping around repeating it in true toddler fashion. I told him in a crazy panic that it was an adult word and if he ever heard it, instead of repeating it he should just say popcorn. Random, I know. It was the first thing that came to my mind – but how funny when Doodle drops something or the dog takes his toy or what have you and he looks at me and says, “Mom, can I say popcorn?”

Leave a Reply

