Germs of Surrender

Last week we took Stella for school orientation.  As we were watching her interact with her new little classmates, I had a moment of pure revulsion and horror.  I saw prodigious snot trails streaming down at least 3 or 4 faces, including the little girl Stella plopped down next to. It was the gross thick snot, too, that streams straight from nostrils and then inevitably gets ingested. No thanks, teacher.  Lunch won’t be necessary. It was all I could do to keep from asking the teacher to WIPE AUDREY’S NOSE PLEASE GOD.

In the blink of an eye – or the drip of a nostril – this little school went from being a cute little environment where Stella could learn and play and be socialized to something requiring Level B clothing.   A haze of illness blankets the place.

We’ve been lucky, I must say, on the illness front.  Stella has stayed with her nanny and BFF, avoiding the typical day care infections.  The nanny’s older son would occasionally bring a cold in from school but Stella always seemed to get a much milder case than everyone else.  Even when the BFF and Stella came down with hand, foot, and mouth disease, Stella’s case was pretty easy.  As a result of Stella staying so phenomenally healthy, the grown ups have as well.

Our luck is about to run out.  As a matter of fact, it has already.  I got sick 2 days after the school visit, corresponding with a typical incubation rate of a cold and I touched NOTHING.  Thanks germy little carrier monkeys children.  My weekend was much more enjoyable for the congestion, coughing, and achiness.  To be fair, due to my chronic lack of sleep, it’s no wonder I got it and no one else did.  I still don’t have to like it.  Stella better start bringing home more art for the fridge from school and leave the plagues behind.

I’m ranting.  Partly because I still don’t feel well.  Partly because in a few hours we’ll drop her off.  I know she’ll be fine and love it.  This will be great for absolutely everyone (except my bank account but oh well).  I worry.  I am a worrier.  I worry about her being hungry or thirsty.  I know that’s dumb, but she’s been able to eat and drink on demand her whole life.  Maybe I should have taught her differently, been more structured.  Maybe I should have taught her to identify snotty children and stay the hell away from them.

Anyway, we’ll be packing up her supplies here shortly.  We bought the required nap mat (I wonder if they give refunds or trade-in value for mats in mint condition due to lack of use?) and I came up with a unique and ugly solution for her blanket.  All the available blankets at home are either giant grown up blankets or baby blankets.  I wanted her to have a special big-kid blanket, so Saturday we went to the fabric store where I wanted her to choose a couple of different fabrics that I would make into a blanket for her – one of a kind.  I envisioned a cute cartoony side and maybe polka dots or stripes on the other with a satin ribbon trim at the top.

This may have been an idealistic and overambitious idea.  After running up and down aisles for a while, overwhelmed by color and pattern, I finally got her to look at the kid cotton.  She made very…..interesting choices.  This is the ugliest blanket in the world.  No one will ever try to steal it.  Still, she picked it out and I’m very happy that she’ll have something that mommy made with her at school every day.

Stella's new and very unusual blanket.  Yes, she chose Spongebob Squarepants and the planets with rockets.  Sigh.

Stella’s new and very unusual blanket. Yes, she chose Spongebob Squarepants and the planets with rockets. Sigh.

Have a good first day, my little Doodley B.

She may be really pissed when she finds out she can't wear her ninja princess outfit to school later.

She may be really pissed when she finds out she can’t wear her ninja princess outfit to school later.

About larva225

Working mom. Is there any other kind? Geologist. Nerd.
This entry was posted in Parenting and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Germs of Surrender

  1. shannaleighwray says:

    I looove this post.
    And it’s so true. Every school year (for the last 7 now, including our first preschool experience) leaves us all sick and tired and snotty and exhausted (okay, that’s probably just me with the exhaustion). You’ll survive. And you won’t believe the changes in your little munchkin. The gross, disgusting Petri dish-ness of it all ends up being kinda (mostly) worth it 🙂

    Good luck!!

    • larva225 says:

      Thanks! You know, it’s funny. I have gotten used to just about all bodily fluids from my kids but snot…. I just can’t get over that one. It’s revolting.

Leave a Reply

