Sane Shit, Different Day

Things feel a bit more serene today, thankfully.  Yesterday, I think the grown ups (and Felix) were suffering from a pretty awful day.  Stella was her normal happy (mostly) self.  No one can say that kid doesn’t roll with the punches.

When I picked her up from school, they were inside painting vs. being on the playground due to rain.  After cleaning up her hands a bit, we went to leave.  At that point she found her favorite teacher and with a huge smile on her face said “Good bye, Ms. Megan!”  No expression?  Not speaking “to” people?  Indeed.

My daughter - the one with no facial expressions.  Sorry.  Sorry.  I'm done now.

My daughter – the one with no facial expressions. Sorry. Sorry. I’m done now.

And no, I’m not stating there’s not some issues we need to work on.  I just don’t know that it’s half-day-worthy is all.

Felix had been grumping all day to the point where his current and Stella’s former nanny called me at work.  That’s rare.  When I got him home he nursed well and played happily on the floor while I bathed Stella and made pizza for dinner.  When I checked on him, he was in a nice orange puddle of poop.  I think that was the problem.  It was legendary, that poop.

I think that’s what people mean when they say you don’t pay as close attention to your second child.  With Stella, I could have told you to the minute when she pooped, the approximate volume, color, etc…  I was like the royal poo eunuchs in Pu Yi’s Forbidden City in the Last Emperor.  With Felix?  I think he pooped yesterday or the day before.  Maybe?

Pu Yi, indeed.

Pu Yi, indeed.

I also have to give a shout out to George R.R. Martin.  Yes, I’m late to the book party and am only starting book 4 of the Game of Thrones series but if ever I think my life sucks, I just read a chapter.  Damn that man can write some amazing characters.  And then kill them.  Lots of them.  It’s like Les Misérables with dragons.

I’m also starting to think that “Stark” for Felix’s middle name wasn’t such a good idea.

Sorry.  Got my nerd on for a second.

Today is a new day.  I’m sure it will hold its share of nonsense.  I have a meeting at work.  I hate meeting, unless it’s with my “work husband” over a latte.  I also encountered a new complication yesterday involving the lactation room.  Suddenly there are 4 of us using it (vs either myself alone or one other girl that I never saw).  I think I’m going to replace the sterile “Lactation Room” sign with one that reads “Dairy Farm.”  Geez.

I shouldn’t gripe.  Last time there wasn’t a lactation room.  After trying to find empty offices for months I finally just started going out to my car twice a day and using the car charger with my pump.

See?  I’m trying – really trying – to have a half freaking full glass today.

My loves.

My loves.

About larva225

Working mom. Is there any other kind? Geologist. Nerd.
This entry was posted in Parenting and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sane Shit, Different Day

  1. my27stars says:

    It will all work out. And you’re allowed to have bad days in the mean time. 🙂 Just remember to breathe. – On a side note, that second picture, my goodness I want to squish Felix’s cheeks something fierce right now! SOOO CUTE!

Leave a Reply

