Ramble-Rousing

Things continue to be weird around here.  Of course, when you have kids I guess any/every day is weird.  We’re trying to keep Stella as busy and engaged as possible until she starts her new school.  I figure we will start visiting soon; the head of the school suggested we bring her a few times for 15-20 minutes each visit so that she can get comfortable.  If anything, I predict a full meltdown when we try to take her home after such a short time, but I digress.

My child is.....creative.

My child is…..creative.

 

The fact of the matter is that you can’t be “on” or on the go constantly.  It’s not practical.  And it’s too damn hot out right now, especially for Felix.  He just started putting on some serious chub.  His knuckles finally inverted to where they have become dimples in chubby little hands rather than bony protuberances.

What?  Chubby hands?!

What? Chubby hands?!

 

Yeahhhh.

Yeahhhh.

I think the lack of activity is affecting our evenings.  I AM happy to report that after over 2 years, we finally have Stella sleeping in her own bed (a futon, really, but same difference).  We still have to sit/lay with her while she’s falling asleep, however, and that can take an eternity.  Furthermore, she has been waking up again at 4:00 AM.  That sucks, especially since Felix isn’t so happy about getting up that early.  It’s better when she doesn’t nap.  But we need her to nap for our own sanity as well as the knowledge that she’ll be napping again at school in the not-too-distant future.  So what to do?

I’m really tired.  Last night was a bad one.  I went to bed at 9:20.  Felix woke me to nurse at 9:50.  Then again at 12:10, when he then refused to settle back down in his crib at which point I moved us both to the couch so that Stella or Will would not wake up.  Then again at 3:15.  And then Stella woke up at 4:10.  I tried to get everyone back to sleep to no avail.

So yeah.  Short of installing a track in my backyard or buying a toddler treadmill, I gotta do a better job of getting my kid worn out.  We paint a lot, but that’s clearly not cutting it.  She does stay a rather pleasing shade of light blue, however.  She’s like a demi-Smurf.  We may start taking the kids to Oui Oui’s at least a couple of days a week.  There is more stuff to do out there and the possibility for more kid interaction.  That should help until the new school starts.

We also play music.  When I say "play," I'm being generous.  When I say "music," I'm being very generous.

We also play music. When I say “play,” I’m being generous. When I say “music,” I’m being very generous.

I may need to break down and buy coffee today.  I’m losing it.  At 5:05 this morning I was looking for the hidden cameras, it was so ridiculous.  I felt as if I were an unwitting participant in a case study in noise pollution.  Stella was reciting One Fish Two Fish Red Fish Blue Fish for the 8th time today, Felix was half-moaning/half-squealing, Pocoyo was on TV, and one of the Three Stupid Cats was howling in the hallway, either totally confused or incensed that our bedroom door was shut.

Speaking of noise pollution, an elevator located by the wall adjacent to my office continually breaks.  It emits a slow beeping sound, like a truck backing up.  All day long.  All day.  Removing the doors from what was once a storage closet only made it louder.  I have thusly renamed the storage closet.

Speaking of noise pollution, an elevator located by the wall adjacent to my office continually breaks. It emits a slow beeping sound, like a truck backing up. All day long. All day. Removing the doors from what was once a storage closet only made it louder. I have thusly renamed the storage closet.

I really hate that cat.  I hate to say it but it’s true.  He’s our emotional pee-er.  He peed on some shoes last week, protesting Crispi’s presence in the house.  He also peed on an extra car seat we had foolishly left on the floor by the front door.  Had he been present when I found it, I may have hurt him.  I think I can totally remove the cover in order to wash the hell out of it, but I haven’t had the energy to try it yet.

That’s my new time machine answer:  If I had a time machine, I’d go back in time to when we got the first 2 of the Three Stupid Cats and I’d say DON’T DO IT!  One day, you’ll have children and a house and a job and a husband and you won’t have time for their shit.  It’s no good for anyone.

And with that, one of my most chaotic and rambling posts is done.  I bid you good day.

About larva225

Working mom. Is there any other kind? Geologist. Nerd.
This entry was posted in House and home, Parenting and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Ramble-Rousing

  1. Meg C. DeBoe says:

    Sorry, honey, but I laughed out loud for most of this post! Sometimes life is just ridiculous, isn’t it?

    I love the ‘RBAC’ at your office – we’re thinking of having one installed here. I really think the loud, shrill beep when you hold any entrance door open for longer than 5 seconds, needs some amplification. I think the whole building should know that I dared hold the door for someone.

    Hang in there! And “yes” on the coffee 😉

Leave a Reply

