Diary of A(n) Prank

Once upon a time when I had no real responsibilities (i.e. no children), I had more time and energy to spend on work.  I could not only be at the office for 40 hours a week, I could sometimes work overtime (*gasp*) if necessary.  Anyone who has ever had a job in an place with cubicles for offices, knows that they can make people do strange things.  We’re all supposed to pretend that these cubies are private spaces for one person when in fact the whole world can look in and see what’s going on.  People hear noises and conversations that would otherwise be private.  It’s a false anonymity, really.  If someone has a persistent cough/hack every day after lunch due to untreated acid reflux, you know.  You all know.  But you pretend not to.

This type of confinement and mutual irritation can lead to bad behavior.  Pranks, in particular.  I’ve pulled some lulus in my day.  I’m not saying I’m the grand champion.  But I play a good game.  I think the best thing about it is my pranks are completely random as are the targets.  I rarely prank anyone when they would expect it.

This guy had it coming when he went to Austria for 2 weeks.  We individually Saran-wrapped everything in his office down to individual paper clips and rubber bands.

We used bubble wrap on the floor for a full sensory explosion.

We used bubble wrap on the floor for a full sensory explosion.

I think this guy STILL has stuff in plastic several years later.

I think this guy STILL has stuff in plastic several years later.

This guy also had it coming a few years later when he went to Hawaii for a couple of weeks.  This one wasn’t as bad but was visually impressive.  We just completely boxed in his office.

It's handy having a husband that works in a receiving department....endless supply of boxes.

It’s handy having a husband that works in a receiving department….endless supply of boxes.

We filled every square foot of his office with boxes as high as the cube walls.

We filled every square foot of his office with boxes as high as the cube walls.

Aerial shot.

Aerial shot.

This was my first prank where I work and was probably my favorite.  This guy begged to be pranked.  Where did I get 6 boxes of rubber lobsters?  I’ll never tell.

I don't know that I could ever top this one.

I don’t know that I could ever top this one.

My boss is wonderful, as I’ve said before.  He has created an environment that is like a Petri dish for pranking.  As long as we don’t pull a gag that actually damages anything, results in the Powers That Be paying attention to us for things like, oh, wasting time, or pick on someone who would be a whiny tit about it, he’s down.  As such, he’s been pranked several times.

Once we “Occupied” his office.  This man has no personal effects of any kind in his office, so it’s really quite touching that he saved all our signage.

We felt the need to explain the prank as well as poke fun at the perception of state workers on extended coffee breaks.

We felt the need to explain the prank as well as poke fun at the perception of state workers on extended coffee breaks.

My one regret is that we didn't spend more time on better signs.  They were altogether absurd and pitiful.

My one regret is that we didn’t spend more time on better signs. They were altogether absurd and pitiful.

My work husband and I just pranked him the other day.  He’s a math wizard.  The man does calculus for fun, for crying out loud.  My work husband and I got to giggling about something to do with our boss and A Beautiful Mind.   I thought it would be great if we could somehow fill his office with equations.  We made it so.    It didn’t photograph well but there are sheets of acetate dangling from monofilament full of complicated equations.  What’s awesome is that even now my boss’s boss is calling him “Russell.”   Nerd that he is, he has already critiqued us for several of them.

His new office sign.

His new office sign.

My work husband caught in the act.

My work husband caught in the act.

Unfortunately this prank is like the Grand Canyon in that you just can't capture it on film.

Unfortunately this prank is like the Grand Canyon in that you just can’t capture it on film.

I love shit like this.  It makes me feel “normal.”  And yeah, this post had zero to do with kids.  Sorry.

About larva225

Working mom. Is there any other kind? Geologist. Nerd.
This entry was posted in Parenting and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Diary of A(n) Prank

  1. Meg C. DeBoe says:

    Love it! You probably remember seeing what we did to my co-worker on her birthday: http://dearcrazykids.wordpress.com/2013/06/19/dear-kids-birthday-shenanigans/ …I’m proud of us. I love pranking!

  2. my27stars says:

    I love that you have a work husband. 🙂 Things like this make me miss out-of-the-house work – the playful friendships, the jokes, the pranks, (the actual conversations with adults…) I can’t tell you how many times my desk was moved to a different office or room or covered in post it notes when I was a SpEd Para. 🙂

  3. Boss says:

    What do you mean it had nothing to do with kids? My two biggest kids were responsible for all this.
    You’re at the top of the ranks in pranks.

Leave a Reply

