Learn, Baby, Learn

We’ve almost made it a full week in Stella’s new school.  So far, so wonderful.  I love this place and these people.  I wish we had started here rather than at Stepford Academy.  By the end of her first week there back in June, I had been called twice at work and already been in the office for a formal sit down once, and in both cases the first week was a short one.  The staff has asked us a few questions about how we do things at home but it feels more informative rather than inquisitional.  I’m trying to believe it’s going to be ok.

We have been shaken a bit, however.  Our usual gung-ho daughter has suddenly developed separation anxiety.  I know that sounds stupid to most of you, but this is something we’ve simply never had to deal with.  Stella has always been the kid that would practically flip us the bird in her eagerness to get away from us and go anywhere or do anything.  She hates sitting around.  Now she starts cutting up at the end of breakfast when it’s time to start thinking about getting dressed, brushing her hair, and putting on shoes.  And y’all, you’ve seen the pictures.  Normally this kid is all about those things.

It’s pretty heartbreaking, listening to your kid cry and scream that no, they don’t want to go, they want their mommy, they don’t want to put on shoes.  What’s mystifying to me is that she obviously does not hate school.  On the contrary, every day I’ve picked her up she’s been playing happily with/at something.  She doesn’t come running to me like she’s been beaten all day.  She hugs her teacher goodbye every day and talks about her “sparkly nose.”  It seems her teacher has the sparkliest nose ring in Louisiana.  It goes with her dreadlocks which periodically change color.  I seriously love it.  When I used to go to Stepford, I always felt like I had to hide my tattoo – like I was a pariah and didn’t want them to think that way of my kid.  Crazy-making.

I’m still inclined to think that all will be well if we can get through one or two more weeks.  These folks seem so nice and like they genuinely try to work with kids.

In the meantime, I’ve had 2 glorious afternoons  home telecommuting to just enjoy my boy.  I love Stella, but it is occasionally nice to just hang with Felix without her bouncing around.  Swimsuit?  Colors?  Paint?  Paint?  Go trampoween?  Elmo DVD? Jacket?  Swimsuit?  Swimsuit?  Cake?  Chicken biscuit?

My date on Wednesdays and Fridays.

My date on Wednesdays and Fridays.

If she keeps acting up while getting dressed, I'll let her go to school this way, I swear.

If she keeps acting up while getting dressed, I’ll let her go to school this way, I swear.

 

Here’s to a good weekend out there, and another successful week at school next week!!

About larva225

Working mom. Is there any other kind? Geologist. Nerd.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Learn, Baby, Learn

  1. Christi says:

    Ain’t it grand to have a normal kid?

  2. Meg C. DeBoe says:

    Your kids are so cute!!

  3. Glad to hear that everything is going well at the new daycare. 🙂 This is “spiralmewtrix” btw. I changed my username.

  4. my27stars says:

    I’m so happy you’re loving the granola place. 🙂 A little hippie love really does make things that much nicer.

Leave a Reply

