I Feel Kitty, Oh So Kitty

We leave for a week at the beach in approximately 45 hours and 30 minutes.  Less, if I can prod the family into moving a bit faster.  You have no idea how excited I am.  Yes, I was on maternity leave for 10 weeks earlier this year.  But anyone who’s been there done that knows that THAT’S NOT VACATION.  We haven’t had any time off – proper time off – in a year.

For me, this is coming at the best possible time.  I’m just weary.  After 3 years of my beloved rooster daughter waking me up before the sun compounded  by 7 months of night-nursing my boy-child, I’m so tired that I’m afraid to even pour a sippie cup of wine at night, fearing an immediate “pass out so hard that you might not hear the kids cry” before I’ve consumed half of it sleep.  I think Will spends a lot of his time grumpy with me because I have no time or energy for him.  It’s true.  I don’t.  The only person lower on the totem pole of priority are probably me and the 3 stupid cats.

He doesn’t get it, I don’t think.  I get “You’re always tired” from him all the time.  And sure, he sees me going to bed at 9:00 every night.  Ergo, I’m getting tons of rest.  Not.  What he doesn’t see is me getting up at 12:30, 3:00, and up for the day at 4:15.   Why doesn’t he see it?  Oh yeah.  He’s sleeping.

Anyway.  Vacation.  Now on to packing.

I’ve started my packing list.  It’s already a different beast.  Anyone with one child knows that you end up hauling enough crap to outfit an entire US Army regiment   With 2?  It will be worse.  Sure, some things you can jettison from the packing list.  There really isn’t a need to bring a bunch of toys.  But now we need bottle stuff and infant feeding supplies on top of preschool-friendly food and drink stuff.  Diapering for 2 means 2 sizes of diapers (plus big girl panties, just in case).  2 kids’ worth of swimsuits and outfits per day X 2 (X 3 for Felix – he’s just messier).  Shoes for Stella.  Hell, that’s a separate trunk right there.  But it’s all necessary.

Where I see skirmishes this time around involves Stella and her army of Kitties.  We are Kittied out at my house.  Her bed is Kitty.  She now has 4 Hello Kitty dolls and they travel throughout the house with her.  They have tea and converse amongst themselves.  Occasionally they are jettisoned for her mermaid dolls, but the Kitties are always present first thing in the morning, at night for bed, and usually during meal times.

I’ve told Will that I predict that she is going to want the Kitties to come on vacation with us.  He said no.  I’ve got news for him:  the Kitties are coming on vacation with us whether he wants them to or not.  Maybe not the lesser kitties, such as the pillow pet junior, freshly-laundered from her dip in the commode.  But the Hello Kitties will be there.  (Snarky comment:  His reticence makes me want to compulsively buy her more Kitties.)

Actual morning-of birthday picture.  New big HK doll and the smashing new kitty helmet.

Actual morning-of birthday picture. New big HK doll and the smashing new kitty helmet.

 

The Kitties and Stella (in helmet) watch cartoons.  The only reason Will didn't have to throw down with her before school to get the helmet off was because Crispi had sent a brand new sparkly HK outfit to wear with the new sparkly shoes in the previous picture.

The Kitties and Stella (in helmet) watch cartoons. The only reason Will didn’t have to throw down with her before school to get the helmet off was because Crispi had sent a brand new sparkly HK outfit to wear with the new sparkly shoes in the previous picture.

My ultimate goal is to have everything packed when no one else is looking.  I’m pretty good at that, ninja packing.  I stage things in piles where no one thinks to look (plain sight, usually), and then squirrel them into a suitcase or bag.

The Kitties will send you all love from the beach.

About larva225

Working mom. Is there any other kind? Geologist. Nerd.
This entry was posted in life, Parenting and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

