Ayn Random

It’s been busy.  God, it’s been so busy.  Most of it’s good, some of it is just crazy-making.  Work has been really intense.  It stands to reason when you live in the deep south and you operate a chemical plant/refinery, you want to wait until it’s cooler to do certain work.  90˚+ temperatures plus Nomex equals horrible.  Add in the cold/bug most of my household has had, a dash of therapy and doctor’s appointments, and cap it off with an extremely late day of training Wednesday which ended in complete culinary disaster (mealy bugs discovered in the macaroni and cheese resulting in a turkey dog on a hamburger bun for dinner), and yeah.  Crazy.  Stupid crazy.

Stella seems unaffected by the cooler weather, unconcerned that a mermaid sundress might not be the best choice when it's in the 50's outside.

Stella seems unaffected by the cooler weather, unconcerned that a mermaid sundress might not be the best choice when it’s in the 50’s outside.

We’ve been on the go constantly at home for the past couple of weeks, but it’s been fun stuff.  Man, do I wish we could just spread this out a bit.  There was a school trip to a pumpkin patch, a birthday party, a trip to the zoo in costumes, all within the past week and a half.  We still have 2 more birthday parties (one tomorrow in costume) and of course Halloween itself.  It’s fun but it does make for some long days.

Daddy and Stella in a giant pumpkin.

Daddy and Stella in a giant pumpkin.

 

What else do you see at pumpkin patches?  Monster roosters, of course.

What else do you see at pumpkin patches? Monster roosters, of course.

 

This "smile" is new.  Her daddy offered her candy if she would smile for a picture.  It kind of makes me shiver.

This “smile” is new. Her daddy offered her candy if she would smile for a picture. It kind of makes me shiver.

 

Felix as giraffe at the zoo.

Felix as giraffe at the zoo.

Felix is developing insanely fast.  I often wonder if my perception is skewed since he’s my second kid.  With Stella, everything was noted and marveled at.  With Felix it just seems like I’m watching him on time-lapse camera.  As ready as I am to get some of this baby stuff over and done with, I’m also incredibly conscious of the fact that this is it.  I’ll never have an infant again.  Those sweet baby snuggles are rapidly coming to an end.  It’s sad.  But it’s so cool to see him already so damn close to walking at 8 months with 2 teeth and more just under the surface.  It is like he’s on fast-forward sometimes.

That shirt says it all.  It's supposedly a Halloween shirt, but we will wear this until it's merely shreds or until he outgrows it.

That shirt says it all. It’s supposedly a Halloween shirt, but we will wear this until it’s merely shreds or until he outgrows it.

 

Look ma!  No hands!

Look ma! No hands!

 

This kid is the messiest eater I've ever seen.  It must seriously be some kind of Guinness Record contender.

This kid is the messiest eater I’ve ever seen. It must seriously be some kind of Guinness Record contender.

This blog is not funny.  It’s random.  I’ve had no opportunity to sit down and write much less be creative.  But I figured if I didn’t record something I’d kill y’all with rambling content when I finally “came back” or forget something.

 

My 2 little hams.

My 2 little hams.

Finally, a haiku:

On my kitchen floor,

A ramen noodle left behind.

Stuck to my foot.  Gross.

About larva225

Working mom. Is there any other kind? Geologist. Nerd.
This entry was posted in House and home, life, Parenting and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

