The Highlight Saga: Dye Another Day

In my attempt to regain  more of a sense of self, I will now discuss something other than my children:  my hair.  Utterly riveting, I tell you.

This past weekend my hair underwent yet another transformation.  The initial red that I had put in at the beach to cover the Blonde faded out, leaving me in the strawberry blonde family.  While not terrible in and of itself, A) it was a far cry from my dark color, and B) I feared the Blonde was coming back.  *Shudder*

The Blonde.  Egads, it was terrible.

The Blonde. Egads, it was terrible.

The next time, I found another, redder color.  It looked beautiful on the box.  On my head?  Think Ronald McDonald.  (Whatever happened to the Fry Guys?)  I found some comfort knowing that being a red, it would wash out pretty quickly.  At that point, the plan was to go for the throat and get a nice boring box of dark brown.  Hopefully that will be the end of it.  At that moment, I decided I would even happily take my grays back.

Strawberry fields or something....

Strawberry fields or something….

Ronald McDonald called.  He wants his hair back.

Ronald McDonald called. He wants his hair back.

Hey!  This shade almost matches the wine in my grown-up sippie cup!

Hey! This shade almost matches the wine in my grown-up sippie cup!

The Dark Side, indeed.

The Dark Side, indeed.

The brunette is back, hopefully to stay.  I have learned a few things throughout these past few months:

  • I thought blonde hair was supposed to absorb everything?  Everything but red hair dye, I guess.  I’m hoping like hell brown is different.  Otherwise, I might actually have to try rocking a pixie cut to rid myself of the Blonde nightmare.
  • Blondes do not have more fun.  I can say that with emphasis now.  In fact, there have been moments in the past 3 months that were utterly excruciating and can by no means ever be construed as “fun.”
  • I should just leave my shit well enough alone.

It should also be noted that my children don’t even react anymore when mommy has new hair.  I hope Stella doesn’t believe that you can change your hair the way you can your shoes.  This might be a terrible precedent.

About larva225

Working mom. Is there any other kind? Geologist. Nerd.
This entry was posted in life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Highlight Saga: Dye Another Day

  1. Meg C. DeBoe says:

    Here! here! I like the darkside best 🙂

  2. my27stars says:

    The reds were pretty fantastic, but I am such a huge fan of people wearing their natural hair color. I definitely think that nature is really good about picking a color that suits us best, and I also think it’s good at finding the right time to add in those silvery-gray streaks. You look good on the Dark Side. 🙂

    And who knows, by the time Stella is old enough to change her hair color, we might have those fancy Jetson’s style and color machines so she can change it just as often as her shoes!

Leave a Reply

