Every Tom, Dickens, and Harry

We’re still working our way through the Xmas season here.  I must admit, I’m fighting some holiday blues.  I couldn’t tell you why.  It just seems things aren’t/haven’t been working out the way they’re “supposed” to.  I know, I know. That’s my problem.  Weather sucks everywhere.  Everyone’s sick.  It’s just all part of the experience.

In an effort to rekindle my spirit – and with the realization that there simply aren’t many hours remaining for yuletide joy – I’m trying to  make a list of what’s left to do.  But this is a fun list.  Stuff like baking ugly beautiful cookies and Xmas crafts with Stella and Crispi.  I’m making a bit of a schedule.

Stella is finally getting the idea that warm coats and such are necessary when it’s cold outside.  Now we’ve taken the other extreme.  To ride home from school yesterday, she needed her heavy coat – zipped and hood up – and scarf.  A bit overkill.  I got her on video saying “I can’t put  my arms down,” but I’m not tech-savvy enough to post video.  Here’s a pic instead.  Bear in mind, it was only about 55 degrees when this was taken.

Her arms are down, I know.

Her arms are down, I know.

Last night, I tried to sit down with Stella to make paper chain garlands and to write a letter to Santa.  I got a mixed bag with both, but I’m glad we tried.  Inspired, I came to work and decided to make the best of an irritating situation.  I think I’ve mentioned that I sit next to a closet and equipment room.  It often beeps.  For days.  No one seems to be able to fix it.  It drives me crazy and no amount of reporting it has resulted in serious action.  So, I decided to celebrate my little annoying friend.  I’ve decorated his abode and placed a nice holiday quote on the door, strategically altered.

The name tag I made for my annoying little friend some time ago...

The name tag I made for my annoying little friend some time ago…

 

"His" holiday sign along with part of a nice paper chain garland.  We wear the chains we forge in life, I suppose.

“His” holiday sign along with part of a nice paper chain garland. We wear the chains we forge in life, I suppose.

About larva225

Working mom. Is there any other kind? Geologist. Nerd.
This entry was posted in life, Parenting, work and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

