Bust a Movie

It’s holiday crunch time.  Yes, yes, all my gifts are purchased and wrapped.  Cards have been sent.  The menu has been planned and should be reasonably easy to execute.  I’m still fighting the holiday blues a bit.  There is family I miss and wish I could see.  Hell, my brother and his wife have never gotten to lay eyes on Felix and have only met Stella once.

New yard inflatable by Oui Oui.  The better to irritate Todd and Margo with.

New yard inflatable by Oui Oui. The better to irritate Todd and Margo with.

 

From the holiday sweatshop:  Stella was drafted to decorate gift bags for her father's coworkers.  It got messy.

From the holiday sweatshop: Stella was drafted to decorate gift bags for her father’s coworkers. It got messy.

Every year for the longest time, my dad, brother, and I would watch a list of holiday movies: A Christmas Story, Christmas Vacation, Scrooge (musical), and various renditions of A Christmas Carol.  My brother and I would bitch about some of the titles, thinking them horribly cheesy and old-fashioned.  It’s a Wonderful Life always seemed the worst.  Now, I watch all of these every single year,  invariably alone.  No one wants to participate, and frankly I’m a retail widow this time of year.  At least this year Stella has really gotten into the Grinch and Charlie Brown.  That’s been nice.  We’ve watched them each easily a dozen times.

This makes my heart grow 2 sizes at least.

This makes my heart grow 2 sizes at least.

I want Stella and Felix to have warm memories about being bundled (forced at gunpoint) on the couch to watch these ancient cheesy movies.  I want that to be part of their association with Xmas.  It makes me feel a bit more connected when I’m not, and I hope it does that for them someday when they’re out in the world on their own and away from me.

I’ve been feeling rather down about my blog lately.  I know I started it for me and for immediate family when I was initially pregnant, but it’s hard not to get excited by stats when you see them, and lists of far away places containing people who occasionally check out your posts.  I secretly (or not) fantasize about being Freshly Pressed.  I don’t seem to get much traffic some days, and sometimes no comments.  I know I’m not wholly original (another parenting blog…big freaking deal!) nor am I a professional writer, but I’ve gotten a lot of enjoyment out of this stupid little page.  It’s exciting to think that others appreciate it to some degree.  More so, I’ve taken serious heart from knowing that so many of you dream about drinking all the time (often inappropriately), are elbow deep in crap (literally), have serious snot fatigue, and are so desperately tired you literally salivate at the thought of a 15 minute nap.  It’s nice to know you’re not alone and it’s even better finding someone else hysterically giggling about something horrible.  It’s a similar connection I feel when I watch those old movies.

I don't know what this has to do with Xmas....

I don’t know what this has to do with Xmas….

 

 

But it's just funny.

But it’s just funny.

Anyway, blog family, I’d like to say thank you to you all for being out there.  I also hope you have a very Merry Xmas (or whatever holiday floats your boat).

About larva225

Working mom. Is there any other kind? Geologist. Nerd.
This entry was posted in life, Parenting and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Bust a Movie

  1. Though I may not comment every time, I have read every single post for the past two and a half years. It definitely makes me not feel so alone when I read the thoughts and feelings from another mom on the other side of the country.

  2. Zeta says:

    I’m your regular reader from Denmark! Don’t think I’ve commented, but just letting you know I appreciate every new post I get the chance to read!

  3. Karen Rose says:

    Just caught up on your blog and want you to know how much I enjoy reading your funny, nerdy, snarky, heart-warming blog. I haven’t ever left a reply, but that doesn’t mean I don’t LOVE reading your stories.

Leave a Reply

