Photoshop ‘Til You Drop

I can’t believe it’s already February.  Felix turns 1 in under 2 weeks.  Holy smokes.  Where has the time gone?

My almost 1 year old "baby" playing with my first stuffed animal.  Be careful, Felix!  That's an antique!

My almost 1 year old “baby” playing with my first stuffed animal. Be careful, Felix! That’s an antique!

I was pumping at work the other day, looking through recent pictures on my phone to alleviate the boredom of sitting there.  (Have I mentioned I’m sick of pumping?)  Time has just become this smear.  That’s the best way I can describe it.  Based on a few of the photos I found myself drawn to, here are some notable events from the past 4-6 weeks:

1)    Xmas.  We came, we saw, we opened gifts, we tried to find room for the toys.   I really tried not to go overboard and did ok I think.  But when you’re already saturated, it doesn’t take much.  Most of what we got, thankfully, was large, for outdoor use, and/or didn’t have many small pieces.  Felix didn’t get as much as Stella and I really have to fight the feeling that this is fundamentally unfair.  I very much want to be balanced.  I don’t want him looking at photos one day and wondering why Stella got so much for Xmas/birthdays and he got squat.  This is very much on my mind as we approach his first birthday.

But toys.  We have a lot, even with regular purging and donation.  And as kids are wont to do, they are going to decide what is wonderful to play with.  Felix was given this Fisher Price Talking Dog riding toy thing.  He’s pushed his nose to play the songs maybe twice.  What does the dog do in the meantime?  It sits.  And occasionally Stella tries to use it for impromptu Annie Oakley stunt-riding sessions whereupon she busts her ass while trying to stand on it.  Considering this is the bigger bastard cousin of the original Fisher Price Talking Dog toy that would spontaneously speak in the middle of the night as if possessed by a very cheerful demon, I should be grateful.  But what a waste…

One of 3 times Felix has shown any interest in the demon puppy, and probably only because Stella is looking at it.

One of 3 times Felix has shown any interest in the demon puppy, and probably only because Stella is looking at it.

2)    The Great Ice Storm (a.k.a. a whole lotta togetherness….too-getherness).  We survived.  It wasn’t the most fun we’ve ever had as a family, particularly when you figure that both freezing events also wiped out a weekend.  I tried my best.  I really did.  We made a robot out of the enormous mound of recycling I had piled up since the trucks couldn’t run for 2 weeks.

Trash into "treasure."  Ok, whatever.

Trash into “treasure.” Ok, whatever.

We made homemade pizza one day, because we could.  I said F it one morning, and once Felix was napping, wrapped Stella and myself up so she could jump on the trampoline and have the “experience.”  She hated it.

At first it was great!  How pretty!

At first it was great! How pretty!

 

Wow!  My trampoween sure is slippery.  This is weird but I'll go with it....

Wow! My trampoween sure is slippery. This is weird but I’ll go with it….

 

Aaaaaaand I hate it.  My hands are cold.  Inside NOW!

Aaaaaaand I hate it. My hands are cold. Inside NOW!

The main positive there was that she ceased asking to go outside for a few days.  By the end of the 2nd full day of ice, I didn’t care that my daughter was eating half a 12.5 oz box of Cheez-Its for dinner, as long as she was quiet and contained for a while.

The sodium bloat from so many Cheez-Its is remarkable.

The sodium bloat from so many Cheez-Its is remarkable.

3)    We still have those blasted Xmas lights up.  First they froze, then we had horrendous rain the following weekend.  Like so  many other folks, there just isn’t time to get to this stuff, particularly when Will and I don’t have the luxury of overlapping schedules during the week.  We just look like the neighborhood rednecks.  Again.

And with that, I guess I’m done with this odd reflective session.  I’m now beginning to panic (stupidly) about Felix turning 1.  He really doesn’t need toys.  He will need some clothes (and diapers), but that just seems sad.  We’d like a wagon for the kids, but that is a little steep for us for a birthday gift.  I’ll do cake or cupcakes with Will’s family, but otherwise that’s it.  I guess I could always photoshop this rad party in later with cowboys and dinosaurs?

About larva225

Working mom. Is there any other kind? Geologist. Nerd.
This entry was posted in life, Parenting and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

