To Skill a Mockingbird

There have been loads of times where I feel as if my children were born to the wrong mother. Case in point, I can’t carve good pumpkins to save my life. During Halloween, I often feel as if my kids  should’ve been born to one of those women who do that wild competitive jack-o’-lantern carving.  Same with birthdays. My baking and decorating skills are appalling, and I can’t wrap a present to save my life.

Now I can add hairstyling to that list.

I have said for years that I shouldn’t be allowed to have hair, as I don’t know what to do with it.  My hair barely gets washed and brushed. It generally stays in a ponytail, unless I’m in one of those intervals where I up and whack it short without any provocation.

Now I have a little girl. A little girl with long flowing beautiful mermaid hair.  People would kill for my daughte’rs hair. I would kill for my daughter’s hair.

It was recently Dr. Seuss day at school in which the indomitable Dr. was to be fêted throughout the day. I thought I would try to make “Stella Lou Who hair” to go with her Red Fish Blue Fish shirt. She was ecstatic, but clearly I need to work on my technique.

New shirt with red tutu, of course.  Cindy Lou Who would wear nothing less.

New shirt with red tutu, of course. Cindy Lou Who would wear nothing less.

The hair.  Sad.

The hair. Sad.

At least they made hats at school which camouflaged her poor hairstyle.

At least they made hats at school which camouflaged her poor hairstyle.

Add creating fictional hairstyles to my list of things I cannot do.

About larva225

Working mom. Is there any other kind? Geologist. Nerd.
This entry was posted in life, Parenting and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to To Skill a Mockingbird

  1. Amber Perea says:

    What?! It’s so cute! Creative moms are boring and unable to handle the real-life crazy that our kids are. WE need logic and unemotional responses to things that would make other mothers crazy. 😉

Leave a Reply

