Like Finding a Noodle In a Haystack…

My mother (Crispi) has been trying a new diet.  Maybe it’s the Paleo diet?  In any case, she’s avoiding lots of carb/wheat products and has been substituting with vegetables wherever possible for pasta and such.  She finally bought one of those “spiralizers.”  These things are amazing.  You wash whatever it is you want to “noodle,” cut off inedible bits, pop it into the device, and turn the handle.  Instant noodles.  It’s a miracle.

During a recent visit, she brought some noodled zucchini for us all to try.  She made a critical error and made them short and stubby so the kids would have an easier time eating it.  Foolish, foolish Crispi.  Ease of eating isn’t the point.  The kids weren’t that amused.  I was.

After thinking about the possibilities and watching some YouTube tutorials (Yep.  NERD ALERT!!), I wanted one.  Crispi was happy to order one for us.  I can only begin to explain how amazing this is.  I immediately made my own super-long zucchini noodles for dinner that night (quickly blanching them in water and serving them to the kids with a little butter, salt, and garlic powder) and Stella wanted more.  My kid asked for MORE ZUCCHINI.  Felix also had a good time slurping them up.

Apple spaghetti.  Oh yeah.

Apple spaghetti. Oh yeah.

Maybe next time saute the apple spaghetti in some butter with cinnamon to go with pancakes?

Maybe next time saute the apple spaghetti in some butter with cinnamon to go with pancakes?

The next morning we had “apple spaghetti.”  To be fair, they played with that more than they ate, but it’s still damn fun.

I have a mental list of everything I want to noodle: squash, sweet potato, potato.  Maybe jicama?  Celery root?

Not all recent culinary experiments have been positive.  While the zucchini noodles (behind) were devoured, the delicious-looking pizza in the foreground was NOT.  It was a "cauliflower crust" pizza.  I've been forbidden from cooking it again.

Not all recent culinary experiments have been positive. While the zucchini noodles (behind) were devoured, the delicious-looking pizza in the foreground was NOT. It was a “cauliflower crust” pizza. I’ve been forbidden from cooking it again.

For those of you with picky children (or grown ups) in your life:  get thee a noodler!!

 

Post Script:  This is the one we got (I think – again, it was a gift).  If you all go to Amazon and search “spiralizer” this is what comes back.  There are 5-6 of them that look identical – like totally identical.  This is the cheapest!  And I don’t work for the company or Amazon.  It’s just a nifty gadget in the fight against picky little kids.

Roll over image to zoom in

New and Essential Tri-Blade Spiral Vegetable Slicer


Price: $25.48 & FREE Shipping on orders over $35. Details
In Stock.
Sold by PORTABLE GUY and Fulfilled by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
Want it Monday, March 24? Order within 20 hrs 54 mins and choose Two-Day Shipping at checkout. Details
  • Make quick works of fancy vegetable peeling with the spiral vegetable slicer
  • Includes 3 sets of blades: 1/8-inch spacing, 1/4-inch spacing, and straight blade for ribbon cuts
  • Simply place vegetable or fruit on prongs, turn wheel while pushing base toward blade
  • Made of durable plastic, Dishwasher safe
  • 1-Year Warranty Included
3 new from $24.99
About larva225

Working mom. Is there any other kind? Geologist. Nerd.
This entry was posted in life, Parenting and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Like Finding a Noodle In a Haystack…

  1. Amber Perea says:

    Send the link. I mean NOW WOMAN!

  2. This is a wonderful idea! I think Lilah would have fun with the noodles, too.
    I tried making cauliflower fried rice once. Obviously no rice was involved and it was really meh. I don’t think I did the cauliflower justice.

    Oh yeah and link would be nice! @w@

  3. I just noticed that at the bottom “crispy” and “diaper” are next to each other. I would never want a crispy diaper.

    • larva225 says:

      Neither would I. But alas, as a mom, we’ve all experienced them. **Shudder**
      BTW: I edited the blog with the gadget itself if you wanted to take a peek!

  4. OMG!! I am so getting one. Pasta is the one thing I can Victoria to eat consistently!

Leave a Reply

