Ain’t Too Proud To Egg

Meet Hubber.  Hubber is a relic from my own infancy – the only toy left from my childhood.  He’s a little worse for wear, as you can see, but he’s here.  That’s the important thing.93

When we were putting the nursery together, Will and I both put our old stuffed animals together on a shelf near the crib, along with some cute illustrations I found on Etsy.  Will chose his old stuffed lion, and I chose Hubber.94

In case I forgot to mention it, Hubber is supposed to be Humpty Dumpty. I guess our thought process was that our old friends would keep watch over our new baby. Kind of cute I guess.

About a year ago, Stella seem to suddenly notice Hubber. From time to time, she would demand that I take him down and then play with him for a day or two.  She even slept with him a few times.  It kind of made me happy-that she appreciated my old favorite friend.

A couple of days ago, she asked for Hubber again.  She insisted that Hubber join her for breakfast. Hubber had a seat of prominence on the kitchen counter next to her fruit and peanut butter.  Ultimately, she and Hubber began having a conversation.  From the gist of it, I gathered that in Stella’s world, Hubber was not a boy. Hubber was a girl.

I asked her point-blank: is Hubber a boy or a girl? She emphatically stated that Hubber is a girl.  After 40 years, Hubber has had a sex change. I feel a little odd about that.  To me there’s no question. Hubber, Humpty Dumpty, or any other strange egg creature ought to be a male.  I’m struggling with my old/new transgender friend.

Felix is getting in on the anti-gender stereotype action here, wearing his sister's princess crown and brandishing a scrub brush.  Cinderfelix? Felixella?

Felix is getting in on the anti-gender stereotype action here, wearing his sister’s princess crown and brandishing a scrub brush. Cinderfelix? Felixella?

 

About larva225

Working mom. Is there any other kind? Geologist. Nerd.
This entry was posted in life, Parenting and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Ain’t Too Proud To Egg

  1. It’s cool that your old toy is being used again. It makes me think of Toy Story.

  2. Meg C. DeBoe says:

    Kitten totally did that to my old stuffed bear. First she put a dress on him and announced he was a girl. A year later she put a dress on him and said he was a boy…very progressive bear 😉

Leave a Reply

