Moulin Stooge

There’s been a whole lot of extra togetherness, what with sick kids, oppressive summer heat, and in-laws out of the country trying to do good for the world (damn it).  I’ve been struggling with my attitude a bit lately as a result.  It’s hard.  The kids are just being kids.  They can’t help the fact that they’re loud as hell and ohmygodpleasejustshutthehellupormyheadwillexplodeandpaintthewallsandyoualongwithit.  Work has been my down time, typically, but not really so much lately.  I’ve had serious stuff to do, made more so by the stupid heat; take hot and amplify it by 10 when you have to wear protective gear.  My heart goes out to those that have to do this shit all the time.  I don’t know how they don’t just keel over.

Yeah. It's hot.  It's so so hot.

Yeah. It’s hot. It’s so so hot.

Anyway.  By the end of a long home stretch, knowing there’s more long home stretch coming, is it just me or do you just want people OUT OF YOUR FACE?  There’s always someone talking/yelling to/at me.  Someone is always in physical contact with me: cuddling, snuggling, hugging, sloppy kissing, kicking, biting, slapping, poking me in the eye.  I start to feel like I’m in a very affectionate episode of the Three Stooges.  I just need to teach Felix to say “Nyuk nyuk nyuk!”

Trying to keep busy with arts and crafts.

Trying to keep busy with arts and crafts.

Including making our own Creepy Carrots, a la one of Stella's favorite books.

Including making our own Creepy Carrots, a la one of Stella’s favorite books.

Now I’m going to go sit quietly in my office for a few hours.  Alone.  I pity the fool that comes in here.

At least some things enjoy the heat:  I'm growing giant things in my garden.  This sunflower reaches the roof.

At least some things enjoy the heat: I’m growing giant things in my garden. This sunflower reaches the roof.

And this is some ginormous squash/zucchini hybrid that reached epic proportions.

And this is some ginormous squash/zucchini hybrid that reached epic proportions.

And son, why oh why won't you SLEEP?!

And son, why oh why won’t you SLEEP?!

About larva225

Working mom. Is there any other kind? Geologist. Nerd.
This entry was posted in life, Parenting and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

