Check Mater

It’s a new week.  Hopefully this marks a return to my quest for balance.  The past few weeks have not felt balanced.  Oui Oui et al returned Saturday night from their trip and Will and I got to dump the kids with her for an hour or so just to grab lunch.  That was the first time in 5-6 weeks where we haven’t had children in our presence (or sleeping in the other room, threatening to wake up any moment).

I'm kind of obsessed with these pics of my boy post-cherries.

I’m kind of obsessed with these pics of my boy post-cherries.

Speaking of:  Felix has been a “sleep dick,” as Will likes to say.  Maybe it’s the tooth he’s cutting.  Maybe it’s a growth spurt.  Maybe it was the ear infections.  Whatever the case, he was really obnoxious this past week.  To the point where he wouldn’t stay asleep for more than an hour or so.  I know.  I ranted about that just last week.  In any case, that fight is still being fought, alongside the war on weaning.  He wants no part of it.

I just can't seem to look away.

I just can’t seem to look away.

It doesn’t help that he and I were pretty much together the whole week.  That meant my boobs were right there with us as well.  I suppose it was unrealistic to try to push weaning under those circumstances.  It’s like sending an alcoholic to a bar to dry out.  Not exactly setting anyone up for success.

*sigh*

*sigh*

Stella’s been doing awesome.  She only “Ursula’d out” briefly yesterday, but to be fair she was excited to see Oui Oui and then bashed her noggin bad enough to grow a knot in the middle of her forehead.  She looked like a unicorn by the time she went to bed.

Stella alleviates her own boredom creatively.

Stella alleviates her own boredom creatively.

Daddy makes an awesome springboard

Daddy makes an awesome springboard

So here’s to a new week.  Here’s hoping:

  • My daughter will take a bath….in the bathtub.  We are working on that one.  We have plans.
  • My son will lose some of his fixation with nursing.
  • With the above in mind, I can get back into some sort of exercise routine.
  • I will have time and energy to do more than just maintain my children’s general condition as well as that of the house.  I can overachieve with stuff like “meal planning.”
  • I can once again talk about something other than my children.  I can discuss current events or pop culture.  Something that doesn’t involve bodily functions or stains.  I do draw the line at anything “Kardashian,” however.  I’d rather discuss poop in the tub than a Kardashian.
  • My children lose their fixation with Mater, the redneck tow-truck voiced by Larry the Cable Guy.  We have watched Mater’s Tall Tales no fewer than 35 times since last Wednesday.  I cannot take it anymore.  Dad gum.
    Here's to more grown-up time!

    Here’s to more grown-up time!

    Sunflower.  Just because.

    Sunflower. Just because.

 

About larva225

Working mom. Is there any other kind? Geologist. Nerd.
This entry was posted in life, Parenting and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

