Hour Town

I have something to discuss that is mostly non-kid related.  We got some amazing news late last week:  Will had interviewed for a job with our local parks service and got it.  Understand, my husband is not a “let’s make a major life-change willy nilly” kind of guy.  He has worked for Barnes and Noble for just over 10 years.  He was a proverbial big fish in a small pond.  He landed there while he was in school and just sort of never left.

At first, it wasn’t so bad – regular hours, and since he started in the receiving department, he got weekends off.  Over time, the company changed.  Call it downsizing, streamlining, or changing their business model, the company simply became less employee-centric.  I worked there, too, for quite some time and hearing what has happened has been pretty sad.

I mean, I get it.  I really do.  The economy sucks.  “Obamacare” has seemingly been a factor (and hell no I’m not opening that Pandora’s box on my blog, but it is a factor in workplaces such as this one);  other than management, most full-time positions were whacked.  It went from a place that offered loads of full-time lower-tier supervisory positions – where people who were really passionate about books and reading could be assigned a section which was “theirs,” providing a sense of ownership and pride – to a McJob, where young adults eke out a living, cobbling their B&N wages together with all the other part time jobs they now have to have to survive.

Whew.  Sorry.

Suffice it to say, over the past 2 years, my husband’s stress level has gone up and up.  Work harder and not smarter, if you know what I mean. Meantime, his scheduled has sucked harder and harder.  I’ve been begging him to get out there and find something else.  During his first interview in a very long time, he landed a new job. ( See folks? You can do it. You just have to put yourselves out there.)

ANYWAY.  I’m ecstatic.  It’s a fresh start for him.  Selfishly, I’m happy for me.  We’ve been living like single parents during the week.  4-5 nights a week, I have been feeding, bathing, and putting our kids to bed mostly alone (thankfully Oui Oui stays and helps with bath time if she’s able).  I’m lucky if I get to talk to my husband for a combined 1-2 hours during the week.  When I do, I’m usually barking instructions or running through data like a drill sergeant, as it’s the only time I can communicate with him.  That doesn’t lead to good, quality conversations.

And this all seems doubly relevant after last week, when I needed to go to urgent care one night and couldn’t because I was home alone with the kiddos and this past weekend, when poor Stella caught strep and we had several very long and active nights.  To know that there are 2 adults in the house to help manage that sort of thing will be a huge lift.

I’ll have help cooking.  If he doesn’t want to cook, he can at least divert the kids.

I will be able to take regular showers for the first time in 3.5 years.  You have no idea how that feels.

We can spend time together, talking, drinking wine, watching movies.

We can spend time apart, and that will be more than ok because together-time won’t be such a rarity.

We can exercise, tagging out with each other so that the other one can ride a bike, jog, or do yoga.

We can actually be like a real family of 4 for more than an hour here, an hour there.

This is huge, y’all.  I’m giddy.  This will be a long 2 weeks.

 

About larva225

Working mom. Is there any other kind? Geologist. Nerd.
This entry was posted in life, Parenting and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Hour Town

  1. Congrats to Will! I am happy for you all 🙂

Leave a Reply

