She Smells Seashells

I’ve been kind of sick now for about two weeks straight. With everyone else in the family being under the weather too, as the mommy I just sort of ended up trying to suck it up.  I think it’s probably just a sinus infection. Part of my reluctance to go to the doctor is simply trying to find time to do it when I don’t have a child in tow. The other major issue right now is simply that we’ve been hemorrhaging money on co-pays and antibiotics between the kids and Will.

Anyway.  Boring.

Logistics aside, for nearly 2 weeks I have been unable to smell anything or taste food. I suppose I can’t really complain about the food thing; goodness knows I could stand to skip a few meals.  And by the way: Am I the only one that considers signing up for Naked and Afraid for the amazing weight-loss potential?

Talk about taking time to smell the roses....

Talk about taking time to smell the roses….

But it’s the smelling that’s bothering me the most. While there are certainly smells that I don’t miss, it’s necessary that I smell these things.  If one of the Three Stupid Cats pees on something, right now I can’t detect it. That’s not good.  I thought I heard one of them scratching in the vomitorium the other morning, and I had to basically crawl around like a catfish noodler hoping my hand would not detect a warm puddle of urine.  And while I certainly don’t miss the aroma of pooey diapers, I need to be able to smell that. Otherwise Felix may marinate in them for quite a while, doing nothing for the skin of his poor little butt.

In this kind of chaos, it's easy to forget if a sippy cup of milk is from today or yesterday, especially if you can't smell it.

In this kind of chaos, it’s easy to forget if a sippy cup of milk is from today or yesterday, especially if you can’t smell it.

My stinky little buddy....  Or not so much right now.

My stinky little buddy…. Or not so much right now.

I just never noticed how much I use my nose.

Sugar and spice and everything nice?  Suuuuuuure.  I smell a rat.

Sugar and spice and everything nice? Suuuuuuure. I smell a rat.

So I think that today will be D-Day, D being doctor.  I need my not so secret weapon -my nose -back!

About larva225

Working mom. Is there any other kind? Geologist. Nerd.
This entry was posted in life, Parenting and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to She Smells Seashells

  1. Such cute little kids! Hope you get your smeller back!

Leave a Reply

