Just a Little Cock and Bulldozer

Sorry for the absence.  By the end of last week, I was just worn out.  Uninspired.  We’re still getting used to our new schedules and reality, what with Will’s new job and all.  Things are getting better.  We’re all adjusting.  We’re finding a groove.

Today is big.  Felix started going to Stella’s school.  Yes, yes.  I know it’s not “school.”  It’s a day-care/pre-K.  But we call it school.  Stella has learned a whole lot there, and I have no doubt that the same will be true for my son, particularly since this is his first real foray into the world of other children (not counting his sister, of course).  He’s always either been with me or Oui Oui.

I gotta admit: this hit me harder than I thought.  With your second, I guess you feel like you’re done with all that sappiness.  I know I didn’t sob going back from maternity  leave after Felix like I did with Stella.  But I had some serious angst dropping him off this morning.  It’s nothing to do with the school; I love and trust those folks.  They’ve done a phenomenal job with my daughter.  I guess it’s just that sense of “there goes my baby – my last child.”  On one hand there is some relief in that.  Maybe one day soon we can all sleep at night in our own damn beds (and he’ll quit nursing, dagnabbit).  We can think about going to do things like tent camping.  We can consider flying in airplanes to see far-flung family.  On the other hand, he’s my last baby.  There will never be another.

My drama aside, this is an awesome thing for Felix.  He’s been getting progressively more bored and restless being locked up at home so much. Poor dude was home all last week.  Oui Oui camped out at our house rather than carry him off to hers.  By Friday, he was in a gnarly mood.  Even painting and coloring got old.

 When finger painting meets kabuki

When finger painting meets kabuki

He’s developed a rather intense love/hate relationship with this wooden bulldozer.  One minute this thing makes him chortle.  The next minute he’s screaming and slamming it into the coffee table.  It’s time he makes new friends – expands his horizons and all.

He's very intense about his bulldozer

He’s very intense about his bulldozer

It has displeased him.

It has displeased him

Maybe it looks better like this?

Maybe it looks better like this?

When I dropped them off this morning, the little shit didn’t even notice when I kissed him goodbye and left the room.  Yes, I know it’s a good thing.  But geez…..  A little crying wouldn’t have killed him.

First day.  Ingrates.

First day. Ingrates.

About larva225

Working mom. Is there any other kind? Geologist. Nerd.
This entry was posted in life, Parenting and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

