Dry Me a River

You’d have to live under a rock to not know about the “wonders” of coconut oil.  Depending on who you talk to, this stuff can clear up acne, “cleanse toxins,” cure allergies, soothe dry skin, help with ulcers, and reduce cholesterol.  Just about everyone I know “pulls oil,” a practice of putting a tablespoon or so in your mouth and swishing it around.  The time required for this swishing is anywhere from 5 to 20 minutes, depending on who you talk to.  About the only thing coconut oil doesn’t seem to magically eradicate (so far) is cancer or ALS.

I finally drank the Kool-Aid and got some, and I’ve swished some.  I don’t buy the whole “toxin cleansing” thing for a minute. I did do a bit of more scientific (vs. granola) reading, and found that coconut oil is naturally antiseptic.   However, I do know that my own mother has struggled with gnarly allergies for eons and since taking up this practice has not had to haul around 6 pounds of pills and inhalers.  I can also say that when I have my act together and remember to do it, my nose does seem a bit less stuffy, and my mouth does feel somehow cleaner.  I realize that’s all anecdotal, but I guess it’s not hurting anything.

Regardless, one thing that does seem completely obvious is that oil moisturizes.  Since I’m prone to dry skin, I have occasionally used this stuff on my hands, feet, and lips.  I’ve even used it on my face every once in a while, and I gotta say it works without breaking me out.

With all that in mind, I did something stupid last night.  Really stupid.  Will was at work at the bookstore and the kids were asleep (barely).  I was watching TV and swishing when I happened to notice that the hair on my legs was beyond my own acceptable threshold.  Since Felix kept coughing himself semi-awake, I was reluctant to run into the shower.  So what to do?  I know!  I’ll do a dry shave using my magical coconut oil.

If only this little boy would sleep, mommy could shower and actually shave WITH WATER.

If only this little boy would sleep, mommy could shower and actually shave WITH WATER.

Bad idea, folks.  Real bad idea.

Yeah.  This sucks.  Sucks pretty damn hard.  At least my sandals match my skin.

Yeah. This sucks. Sucks pretty damn hard. At least my sandals match my skin.

Next time?  I’ll be hairy.

About larva225

Working mom. Is there any other kind? Geologist. Nerd.
This entry was posted in life, Parenting and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

