From Ear to Eternity

Like so many children before him -his father and myself among them – Felix may be cruising for tubes in his ears.  Just last week we were back at the doctor’s office for the second time in as many weeks with what I like to call “ear snot.”  He hadn’t even been off of antibiotics for 5 full days.  Long story short, both ears were impacted, with the eardrum on the leaky one ruptured due to the pressure.

Have I ever mentioned how much I loathe snot?  You’ll think I’m nuts, but give me pee, poop, or even vomit over snot.  Mucous is just revolting to me.  And prior to my little boy, I never dreamed it could stream from ears.  Oh, and eyes.  Now it’s coming from his eyes.

Ear's looking at you, kid.

Ear’s looking at you, kid.

Looking back, I think he’s had an almost-constant infection for the past 4-5 months.  We’ve been on toddler Z-packs, Cipro (drops and orals), a few other random orals I can’t remember at this point.  He’s even had a direct injection.  He’s on Bactrim now, which apparently is the last stop on this train.  Bactrim, I’ve learned the hard way, is what treats staph.  We’ve also started him on some Zyrtec in case some of this is exacerbated by seasonal allergies.

So we wait.  And I have to force feed my son this medicine twice a day for two weeks.  The only thing worse than this might just be having to medicate a feral cat.  He fights, claws, kicks, screams, and cries.  This, in turn, agitates his sister, who becomes defensive of her little brother.  Not cool.  But the alternative is not great: a non-stop ticket to an ENT and tubes.  While I know it’s very common, no parent wants to think of their kid having to go under general anesthesia.

So cross your fingers and toes for us, s’il vous plait.  No to surgery.  No to snot, no matter what orifice it’s coming from.

About larva225

Working mom. Is there any other kind? Geologist. Nerd.
This entry was posted in life, Parenting and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to From Ear to Eternity

  1. Sasha says:

    Sweet boy! Finger, toes, and much prayer for your precious family!

Leave a Reply

