Clark the Herald Angels Sing

As I took my children to school last Friday morning, I found myself uttering the phrase “we’ll have more fun than any family has the right to have.”  It hit me: I am a female version of Clark W. Griswold, Jr..   Sure, I stop short of talking about the majesty of the winter’s morn, but I would totally drink my coffee out of a Tasmanian Devil cup.

But that’s not what I meant.

Clark loves his family and kids more than anything.  He wants to create “fun-filled family” occasions, whether it be a magical vacation or the best Xmas ever.  I totally do that.  This Halloween has so far given me my best opportunity.  We have found events galore to participate in.  All total, the kids will get to wear their costumes no fewer than 6 times before we hang up our candy buckets and get ready for turkey and pie.  It’s wonderful.

Felix's stormtrooper costume.  It was a bit hot when we did Boo at the Zoo so he opted for costume B....

Felix’s stormtrooper costume. It was a bit hot when we did Boo at the Zoo so he opted for costume B….

Felix in Costume B: Frankendude!  Along with pink Mermaid Stella

Felix in Costume B: Frankendude! Along with pink Mermaid Stella

Mermaid Stella and a.....  Sand People?!

Mermaid Stella and a….. Sand People?!

If only I could keep everyone healthy.  In addition to the magic of Halloween, October seems to be our month for acquiring vicious germs.  Remember last year?  We couldn’t trick or treat or go to the school party because Stella got the pukes.  This year, we seem to have caught our bugs early.  3 out of the 4 members of my household have had some sort of flu-like cold, complete with fever, chills, horrible sore throat, and ending with a never-ending cough.  Felix is still battling his ears, although since they cultured the goo (REALLY?!?!) and found the specific germ, his meds have changed and he’s looking much better.  We may finally be closing this section of his medical file.

And obviously the boy is in fighting form again.

And obviously the boy is in fighting form again.

Channeling both Alfalfa and Stevie Wonder

Channeling both Alfalfa and Stevie Wonder

So it’s been busy.  I’ve been swamped at work and at home, with no energy to do anything but the essentials.  In this case, that means Halloween.  (You didn’t think I meant housework, did you?!)

So wish us all luck and fun.  I should be back more regularly by next week.  Unless I’m hung-over from too much candy.

 

About larva225

Working mom. Is there any other kind? Geologist. Nerd.
This entry was posted in life, Parenting and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

