There’s a Tear In My Year

Time moves differently for children than it does for us boring grown-up types.  If there is a fun, highly-anticipated event in their future, time is endless.  It will take forever until their birthday or until it’s their turn to watch The Wiggles’ Halloween Special again (don’t f*&$ing ask).  This is a notion that is really starting to cement itself at our house right now.

Saturday morning, I had a rare moment of peace.  Felix was napping, and after the whirlwind of Friday activities (school party and trick or treating), we were having some down-time.  Stella was happily vegging out in her pajamas watching The Wiggles.  I figured I’d tidy up the house and take down our Halloween decorations.

Felix and I at the school party.  Good stuff.

Felix and I at the school party. Good stuff.

This party is also where I made these "easy" deviled eggs I saw on Pinterest.  F'ing Pinterest.  They  neglected to mention you needed the hands of a surgeon and food tweezers to make them look really cute.  I had neither.

This party is also where I made these “easy” deviled eggs I saw on Pinterest. F’ing Pinterest. They neglected to mention you needed the hands of a surgeon and food tweezers to make them look really cute. I had neither.

Trying to either decorate or put decorations away in the presence of my son sucks.  He’s just not helpful.  Shocking, I know.

Stella ignored me for the most part until I went outside to yank down the lights and inflatable ghoul.  Then she got pretty pissed.

Stella, we’ll see these all again next year when it’s time for Halloween once more.

When is Halloween?

October.

But it’s my birthday!!

Stella, your birthday was in September.  You’ll have another one next year when it’s September again.

Aaaaaaand cue hysterics.

Also owing to some of the drama was this: apparently her father bought her cheese cake during an outing.  You gotta love shared photostreams.  Busted.

Also owing to some of the drama was this: apparently her father bought her cheese cake during an outing. You gotta love shared photostreams. Busted.

I can empathize.  I really can.  I can remember as a kid being depressed after my birthday/Xmas/Halloween knowing that it would be an eternity before they rolled around again.  Kids don’t know how quickly time really does fly.

So what do you do as a parent?  Bait and switch, of course.

Stella, don’t be upset.  We have a parade to go to today and a birthday party tomorrow.  And the party will have jumpy things!!

Yeah?

And guess what?  Then it will be Thanksgiving.

(blank stare)

Then it will be XMAS!!

YEAH?!

Yeah.  So what do you want to dress up as for the parade today?  It’s too cold to be a mermaid.  Your tail will fall off.

Cold-weather parade garb:  A butterfly fairy princess...thing.

Cold-weather parade garb: A butterfly fairy princess…thing.

The Franken-dude was nice and warm. No worries there.

The Franken-dude was nice and warm. No worries there.

I figured I’d be pretty bummed about the Halloween season wrapping up.  It’s really one of my favorites.  And we did it all this year.  It was great.  But it was a lot.  I’m kind of relieved it’s over and that we get a break (Tgiving.  Who gives a merde about Tgiving?) before the wonder that is Xmas.

 

About larva225

Working mom. Is there any other kind? Geologist. Nerd.
This entry was posted in life, Parenting and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

