You’re Barfing Up the Wrong Tree….

Sorry I’ve been so hit and miss lately.  On top of the typical holiday madness, Felix had his tube and adenoids surgery last week.  I was whipped into a horrific frenzy for days only to have it be the easiest thing in the world.  You know, it’s one of those things where you feel like an ass for getting all worked up over nothing.  Regardless, I’m glad it’s over with.

The Dude the morning after his procedure, preparing for the imminent junk-food binge.

The Dude the afternoon after his procedure, preparing for the imminent junk-food binge.

This past weekend was action-packed.  Saturday was a kid’s party and a parade, Sunday was free time with daddy (while I went to a cupcake and toy exchange) followed by lunch and an outing to a local plantation, where we missed the scheduled Xmas event but still got to run around outside a lot.  In the heat.  After eating crap all weekend.

Rolling around in front of  the plantation house, jostling their little bellies full of crappy food.

Rolling around in front of the plantation house, jostling their little bellies full of crappy food.

So both kids were overwrought and uber-tired.  No surprise.  Will put Felix down in record time (under 3 minutes) and I was in charge of Stella.  She had been complaining about being too tired for 2 hours.  She ate a bit of a snack (crackers), and we adjourned to the bathroom to potty and brush teeth before reading her nightly stories.  She sat on the commode, made a brief comment about being sick, before barfing all over herself and the bathmat.  It was Technicolor. I mean, this was impressive vomit.  Obviously the confetti cupcake, lemonade, French fries, Xmas candy, and Cheez-its on top of an afternoon of jostling in the sun wasn’t a good mix.  She wasn’t too happy about it.  Neither was I.  She had one more very minor puke outburst (all over her bed, of course), but that was it.  I really don’t think it’s viral.  I think it was a weekend of crummy junk food on top of too much activity.  I’m not a total food Nazi, but my kids ate pretty poorly the past couple of days.  Mom fail.

She woke up this morning and ran into bed with me and Felix.  I thought she was cold.  Nope.  She had wet the bed in a most extraordinary fashion.  Poor thing.  In the confusion with the puke, I don’t think she ever actually went to the bathroom the night before.  It’s the first time she has ever wet the bed.

I have a mountain of laundry.  I started 2 loads before I even left for work.  She said she felt good this morning and was excited for school, if not a bit lower-energy than usual.

Figures. I finally get the little one well and now the big one is sick (sort of not really).  Fingers crossed we can eat like human beings this week and be healthy and whole for Xmas!

About larva225

Working mom. Is there any other kind? Geologist. Nerd.
This entry was posted in life, Parenting and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

