Cheeeeeeeer’s Johnny!

We have survived another Xmas.  I’ll spare you the details.  It was good.  It was hectic.  We broke Crispi by Xmas night and she sent herself packing to a motel; not everyone can hang with us, what with the 4 AM wake-up calls and all.

It was a good year.  No, it was a great year.  Not having my husband slaving away full-time in retail was awesome.  We baked our second annual batch of ugly Xmas cookies.  We attempted to build gingerbread houses.  I think it’s safe to say there will not be a second annual attempt at that, at least not for a long, long time.  We simply don’t have the patience.

The F*&#ing icing in the kit stuck to everything BUT the damn gingerbread.

The F*&#ing icing in the kit stuck to everything BUT the damn gingerbread.

Stella was undeterred.

Stella was undeterred.

Felix had the right idea: just use the pieces like blocks, build a tower, and eat the candy.

Felix had the right idea: just use the pieces like blocks, build a tower, and eat the candy.

And here are our festive tumor-like Xmas cookies.  Beautiful, no?

And here are our festive tumor-like Xmas cookies. Beautiful, no?

Speaking of, we used our “beautiful” gingerbread houses as a snack for Santa.  They mysteriously vanished by the morning, along with the carrots for the reindeer.  Those piggish deer left lots of “carrot crumbs,” however.  That was one of the highlights of the morning.  I was kind of proud of that.

Stockings!

Stockings!

Felix is showing signs of being a hoarder.  He has every single candy cane in the house in his mitts here.

Felix is showing signs of being a hoarder. He has every single candy cane in the house in his mitts here.

My daughter got a new bike, but was more stoked about her LaLaLoopsy Color Me doll she had been crowing about for weeks (Thanks, Crispi), and the art station.  When I wasn’t looking, she had recreated Santa’s message on it.  That was kind of amazing, in that her writing – candidly – up to now has really sucked and I haven’t seen her write much other than her name.

Santa thought she'd love this bike.  Santa was wrong.  Sigh.

Santa thought she’d love this bike. Santa was wrong. Sigh.

Her penmanship is pretty decent for a 4 year old, I think.

Her penmanship is pretty decent for a 4 year old, I think.

Is my hair alright?

Is my hair alright?

The boy got lots and lots of cars and trucks and things that go.  He was – and is – in hog heaven.

Double-fisted monster trucks

Double-fisted monster trucks

Who can ride a big dump truck?  This dude can.

Who can ride a big dump truck? This dude can.

And now it’s done.  I have hit the proverbial Xmas wall.  For days, I’ve been itching to undeck the halls, fa la la la la and all that.  I’m ready to get back to normal.  That doesn’t stop me from already dreaming of next Xmas, however.

There will be things we’ll do differently – better.   No gingerbread houses, for instance.  I would like a small real tree so that we can make some ornaments together – paper chains, stringing popcorn, salt dough ornaments.  Fewer toys under the tree, and more “experience” related gifts – gift cards for restaurants or shops/places that we can actually take the kids to go and do things.  Oh, and if I decide to cook a turkey breast in the slow-cooker? I’ll need to remember it takes a looooooong time.  Not that anyone (other than Stella) complained about the vegetarian lunch.

Overcome by cars

Overcome by cars

There will be things I’ll repeat.  I loved watching my movies with my mom and Will.  Carrot crumbs will have to be a staple.  Ugly Xmas cookies are certainly in my wheelhouse.

I hope your Xmas (or whatever holiday you chose to celebrate) was amazing.

About larva225

Working mom. Is there any other kind? Geologist. Nerd.
This entry was posted in life, Parenting and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

