Soup du Jury

It feels like we’re in a bit of a transitional period.  Will and I both are having some upsets – both good and mostly bad – at work.  Stella is already counting down to “big school.”  Crispi has left the area in her magical rolling house and we’re now prepping for other major kid events like Farm Day, Stella’s first dance recital, and the arrival of JoePop and Grammy, whom the kids haven’t seen in 8 months.

It’s time for the water park in the backyard, although the backyard would probably beg to differ.  It’s a swamp.  We have weeds that are easily 1.5’ tall, but you can’t cut the grass (the stuff that hasn’t drowned, anyway) because of the ankle-deep water and mud.  I guess a few loads of wading pool water can’t hurt much.  The kids are happy.  I had them out for 2 hours.

There is no shade at all in my backyard.  There is only sunscreen.

There is no shade at all in my backyard. There is only sunscreen.

Aaaaaand 2 hours later.  Couldn't even stay awake for snack and a story.

Aaaaaand 2 hours later. Couldn’t even stay awake for snack and a story.

Time always feels short.  I know that’s normal.  It doesn’t help that I have to leave all next week open for federal jury duty.  I’m a jury virgin.  I’m also a super-planner control-freak, so this willy-nilly “call the night before to see if you have to report and to receive further instructions” doesn’t sit well.  I also have an issue with the no cell phone rule.  I have 2 young kids.  I need to be able to check periodically to see that all is well (and make sure I can be there to pick them up from school and provide them with dinner and bath and…).  Sigh.  Just gotta deal with it.

Dagnabbit.

Dagnabbit.

P.S. Because it doesn’t necessarily need a post of its own, but I still want to  mention it,  I won a cookbook from Robert Irvine!  I never win anything.  He has this “Flat Robert” character that he asks for creative photos of engaged in different activities.  He asked for an April Fool’s pic.  I dug out my pics of the time I put 6 boxes of rubber lobsters in a colleague’s office and Presto! Sorry.  Nerd alert.

I'm such a dork.

I’m such a dork.

P.S.S.  Will set Stella up her own email address.  This could be fun. I sent her one from my office this morning, showing her how serious my business was.photo 6photo 8

About larva225

Working mom. Is there any other kind? Geologist. Nerd.
This entry was posted in life, Parenting and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

