Do or Donut. There Is No Try.

I’d like to introduce you all to Donut.  Donut, obviously, is a pool toy, recently discovered as Will and my dad took the kids to the hotel pool while the girls went shopping.  The problem is that upon completion of the swimming, Donut was not allowed to be stowed away with the towels and swimsuits.  Donut had become a Precious.

A boy and his Donut.  More correctly, a boy in his Donut.

A boy and his Donut. More correctly, a boy in his Donut.

I suppose all kids have Preciouses.  I don’t mean “lovies-“ things like blankets or stuffed friends that must go everywhere at all times with the child.  Preciouses are like talismans for a day (or more).  Stella had plastic Stick of Butter, a toy which she typically would just carry around for a few hours.  I guess she liked the way it felt.

Upon reading that last paragraph, I must concede that Donut is a hybrid between a lovie and a Precious.

Donut gets lugged through the house wherever Felix goes, sometimes all afternoon.  Furthermore, Donut must join both Big and Little McQueen and Mater in bed for naps and bedtime.  When he wakes in the middle of the night expecting to join me in bed or on the couch, the entire f#(&$ing entourage must come along.  If I try to abandon a McQueen, Mater, or Donut, howling commences.  Howling at 2:00 AM is not cool, in that it will definitely awaken anyone else trying to sleep.

The whole gang - my nightly slumber party.

The whole gang – my nightly slumber party.

I’ve been trying to find a way to dispatch Donut.  Unlike with balloons, I won’t need to pop him.  I can simply deflate him.  The problem is, Felix is telepathically linked with Donut.  We’ve tried hiding Donut in the middle of the night, hoping he would “forget.”  Doesn’t work.  I’ve had to go find Donut in the dark, tiptoeing around with Felix, McQueens, and Mater in tow, looking for wherever Will put Donut.

When not engaged in slumber, Donut becomes a nest, a racetrack, and a construction site.  I guess he’s not all bad.  I just wish he’d go on a diet.  And learn to sleep all night.

Donut goes around and around and around

Donut goes around and around and around

About larva225

Working mom. Is there any other kind? Geologist. Nerd.
This entry was posted in life, Parenting and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Do or Donut. There Is No Try.

  1. Anxious Mom says:

    Hahaha, that is precious (especially since it’s not my child with the huge “friend”). The thought of you traipsing through the house with all the stuffies in tow looking for that float had me rolling. I would suggest switching out donut for a much smaller one they sell at the dollar store, but somehow I doubt that’d work.

    • larva225 says:

      Oh yeah. I’m stuck with Donut until he finds something else. I can only hope it’s not Donut, the McQueens, Mater, AND something else….

  2. Pingback: Man of Steal | Dramatic Momologue

  3. emmaples says:

    I’m dying. 😂😂😂😂

  4. Pingback: With This Thing, I Thee Bed | Dramatic Momologue

Leave a Reply

