Man of Steal

I’ve been a crappy blogger.  I know.  One of the “rules” of blogging is to be “regular” with your posts.  I guess I’ve neglected to take my emotional prune juice.  It’s not that nothing is happening, it’s just that it feels like a lot of effort to write it out for a bunch of folks who might not read it.  And now I’ll conclude the pity party and get back to the task at hand.  How’s life?

It’s Louisiana.  It’s hot.  We get these afternoon thunderstorms, which is typically a good thing: it cools stuff off.  But then there’s the wind and lightning which sometimes take a nice cooling sprinkle and cloud cover and turn it into a creation by Danté.  We lost power for 24 hours recently.  Sure, it’s only 24 hours.  We lost power for 3 nights at the end of April.  But it wasn’t in the 90’s in April.  It was horrible.  No one slept the night we were dark, and my entire house reeked of masticated cat food.  We lived, but not happily.

This was about 30 minutes in to the power outage.  The car was our only refuge.  I wasn't digging it.

This was about 30 minutes in to the power outage. The car was our only refuge. I wasn’t digging it.

5:30 AM McDonald's.  Where else can you get AC, coffee, and breakfast when there's no juice at home?

5:30 AM McDonald’s. Where else can you get AC, coffee, and breakfast when there’s no juice at home?

Will and I recently had a nice overnight break from the kids.  We watched Guardians of the Galaxy on DVD (fan-damn-tastic) and went to see Jurassic World in the theater in 3D.  It was a Chris Pratt love-fest.  Candidly, I didn’t know who the hell that guy was before Saturday  night.  Love.  Him.  And it was so nice to feel like a normal human being doing normal non-kid-related things again.  We hadn’t seen a movie in the theater since the first Hunger Games.  Stella was about 18 months old.

So we’re just trying to stay busy/happy and a bit cool.  I finally broke down and ordered a pop-up tent/canopy thing, so the kids and I don’t roast in the backyard.  We need shade, desperately.  There are lots of popsicles around.

We're not always happy...

We’re not always happy…

The big change afoot is that my son has decided that his toddler bed is unacceptable.  For the past week or more, he’s been sneaking into his sister’s bed with his “Donut” (that infernal inflatable inner tube he’s been dragging around for 2 months – see https://larva225.wordpress.com/2015/05/22/do-or-donut-there-is-no-try/) at night and during naptimes.  Thus far, I’ve been able to keep this knowledge from Stella; I go into the kids’ room, remove Donut, and place Felix in his own bed.  I think she’d be pretty angry that the sanctity of her big girl Kitty/Mermaid bed had been violated.  But the message is clear: the dude needs a bigger bed lest he keep trying to hijack his sister’s, ultimately leading to screaming and/or violence.

I’ve ordered the bedding, and the bed should show up Friday.  He’s just a little excited.  This may also finally mark the end of co-sleeping.  I have mixed emotions about that.  While he’s been sleeping in his own bed about 50% of the time lately, he’s my  last baby.  Y’all know what I’m talking about.

Ohmyglobnewbeddingandi'msoexcited!

Ohmyglobnewbeddingandi’msoexcited!

Of course it's McQueen...

Of course it’s McQueen…

I’ll try to do better with the blogs.  I hope everyone has a wonderful holiday!

About larva225

Working mom. Is there any other kind? Geologist. Nerd.
This entry was posted in life, Parenting and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Man of Steal

  1. NickyB. says:

    Wow! Well I sure hope the power doesn’t go out again. I would have to move into the 24 hour McDonald’s down the street! I understand the co-sleeping thing. My husband wasn’t having it and in the end I am glad I listened to him. Don’t give up…I hope you enjoy the holiday and the rest of your summer!

    • larva225 says:

      Thanks! I’m much more tolerant of the co-sleeping thing than he is, even if that means me and the dude on the couch. After 2 kids, my motto is typically “I don’t care where you sleep, or who you sleep with, as long as you sleep, dammit!”

  2. I bet you’ll still see that little guy in the middle of the night!

  3. emmaples says:

    I also developed a Chris Pratt crush after Jurassic world. You can get your fix with “parks and rec” if you haven’t watched that yet.

    • larva225 says:

      I had heard they were redoing the Indiana Jones movies. I was – and still sorta am – pissed about that. But I thought I heard CP might be the new Indy?! That might be acceptable!

Leave a Reply

