Green Eggs and Hamper

One of Felix’s newest obsessions is the white wicker hamper in our room.  Will gets totally skeeved out about it, asking if I’m aware of how gross a hamper is and how many germs are in there.  I suppose I’m more realistic.  That hamper is nowhere near as gross as our floors or couch, and we all spend lots of time on those things.  I mean, I don’t know what he’s doing with his clothes, but….

Kids play in hampers.  That’s just what they do.  They become foxholes, jack-in-the-box boxes, cannons, whatever.

I don’t really have a problem with this, except for 2 beefs: My son first will dump all dirty clothes – you know, the actual stuff that’s supposed to be in a hamper – all over my bedroom floor before dragging it into the living room or kitchen.  This happens multiple times a day.  Usually I just give up and move the dirty laundry into the laundry room.  The other beef is that my son is about 8” too short to throw his leg over the top and climb inside.  This means that he has to holler for me to pick him up and drop him inside.  Unfortunately, this also means he’s about 8” too short to get out by himself.  This means he has to holler for me to let him out.  This happens multiple times until I find something to distract/dazzle him and can sneak the hamper back to the bedroom.  But he always remembers….

Distraction at its best...

Distraction at its best…

He wanted my nasty purple kitchen sponge, hollering for "Purple Spongebob."

He wanted my nasty purple kitchen sponge, hollering for “Purple Spongebob.”

Now he has his own giant orange germ-free Spongebob.  I win!

Now he has his own giant orange germ-free Spongebob. I win!

About larva225

Working mom. Is there any other kind? Geologist. Nerd.
This entry was posted in life, Parenting and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Green Eggs and Hamper

Leave a Reply

