Heat, Drink, and Be Merry

So some brainiac (me, dammit) decided that it would be “cool” to have a “summer party-“ a casual get-together with casual food, casual drinks, and not-so-casual activities for all the kiddos: their activity list was action-packed.

You have to understand how goofy this idea was at the outset:

  • I’m an introvert. I don’t “throw parties.”
  • I tend to be a perfectionist, wanting everything to be perfect – my house (which is laughable given the lack of opportunity to maintain it since spawning 5 years ago), yard (see previous in parentheses), food, drink, music, the whole enchilada. That does not make for a relaxing experience.
  • It’s Louisiana. In August.

I sent invitations out over a month in advance.  I had lists nested within lists to ensure we didn’t forget everything.  I started gathering materials weeks and weeks in advance: chips, juice boxes, beer, water, beer, beer, and beer.  I had a cleaning schedule to take care of the priority areas of the house while still allowing my children to actually live there.

The day of, I had 2 lists – one for me, one for Will. Both of us had to change clothes multiple times due to the intense sweating.  We left the kids inside with the ultimate babysitter, Spongebob Squarepants.

You know what?  We pulled it off.  It was pretty awesome.  The kids all had a glorious time, and I was so happy that so many kids of so many ages were able to play together so well without many of them knowing each other.  Even the more quiet and withdrawn kiddos participated.

The foam machine is always a success.

The foam machine is always a success.

Pinata!

Pinata!

Adults relaxing.  I finally found a use for my pile of paper cranes and made a garland out of them, but didn't get a picture, dammit.

Adults relaxing. I finally found a use for my pile of paper cranes and made a garland out of them, but didn’t get a picture, dammit.

The big hairy kid in the pool is my husband.

The big hairy kid in the pool is my husband.

Thanks to my ultimate “Ya Ya” aunt, I had an easy and heat-appropriate cocktail to serve alongside the beer.  It was a success.  I’d totally do this again.

Just maybe in January.  And merde.  I just remembered Stella’s birthday party is next month…

Everyone was kind of tired by the end.

Everyone was kind of tired by the end.

About larva225

Working mom. Is there any other kind? Geologist. Nerd.
This entry was posted in life, Parenting and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

