Precious Your Luck

I’ve written about my son’s strange little hoarding habit, in which he’ll glom onto a certain object or objects and carry them around, even sleeping with them.  He’s like a little squirrel.  I just roll with this now.  Sometimes – at night – it works in my favor.  The Preciouses help him sleep, especially under his Donut blanket.  The night after our summer party, he had quite a Precious assemblage: a small beach ball, 2 bottle caps, and 2 bunches of sticks that had been used to inflate water balloons.  At some point in the night, I heard him stirring.  I was able to get in there and put him back to sleep since he lost so much time trying to pick up all of his Preciouses.

Stick Preciouses.  There are some zip ties in his other hand.

Stick Preciouses. There are some zip ties in his other hand.

Recently he tried to make a corn dog a Precious.  He’s done this with food before – beef sticks, pickles, M&Ms (which do melt in your hands, dagnabbit).  But not like this.  He caressed it. He told it that it was “so cuuuuuuute.”  He looked at me earnestly and told me how soft it was.  This went on for about 45 minutes.  As this was happening right before naptime, I figured I was going to have to break my son’s heart and take away his corn dog rather than allow it in bed with him.  Fortunately, he ate it eventually.

Hugging on his corn dog

Hugging on his corn dog

I’m not sure how I feel about that.

This strange little dude has my heart

This strange little dude has my heart

About larva225

Working mom. Is there any other kind? Geologist. Nerd.
This entry was posted in life, Parenting and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Precious Your Luck

Leave a Reply

